HP Pavilion PC with new SSD - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-02-2015, 07:32 PM   #11 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,296
Default Re: HP Pavilion PC with new SSD

Getting a new PC will only give her things that she doesn't necessarily need. The only things that need to be replaced are the motherboard and processor.

So something like this combo would be cheap and effective.
MSI H81M-P33 LGA 1150 Intel H81 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard - Newegg.com
Intel Celeron G1820 Haswell Dual-Core 2.7 GHz LGA 1150 54W BX80646G1820 Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics - Newegg.com

Or she could go a little further and get a Pentium.
Intel Pentium G3220 Haswell Dual-Core 3.0 GHz LGA 1150 54W BX80646G3220 Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics - Newegg.com
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2015, 11:11 AM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 456
Default Re: HP Pavilion PC with new SSD

Ok, I will probably go that route and order the parts for her. I've built some custom computers before, but I'm assuming it's not that hard to install a motherboard in a HP desktop, right?
__________________

__________________
-B-
cyclones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2015, 11:37 AM   #13 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,296
Default Re: HP Pavilion PC with new SSD

Don't order, I'm dumb and just realized that board in the HP is mITX. Lemme find you a new board.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2015, 11:51 AM   #14 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,296
Default Re: HP Pavilion PC with new SSD

Here's the cheapest mITX board which isn't too much more cash. If you could, get a pic of the front panel connectors (for power button, ect) so I can make sure it's all compatible.

ASRock H81M-ITX LGA 1150 Intel H81 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Mini ITX Intel Motherboard - Newegg.com
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2015, 10:09 AM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 456
Default Re: HP Pavilion PC with new SSD

I had already ordered that MSI motherboard before I saw your message, so I will need to process an RMA and return it.. No big deal.

I don't have her PC with me right now, but planning to pick it up tonight so I can work on it. They have the HP motherboard picture here (HP Support document - HP Support Center) but I'm not sure if that's too small or not? Thanks for the help.
__________________
-B-
cyclones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2015, 10:43 AM   #16 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,296
Default Re: HP Pavilion PC with new SSD

Yea sorry about that and no the picture is too small. I already tried Googling but I need the connector ends from the case.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2015, 09:08 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 456
Default Re: HP Pavilion PC with new SSD

I got the pictures posted here at my Dropbox:
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/7db2uq88d...xAOAtIzXa?dl=0
Let me know if you need any additional pictures.

Thanks again sir!
__________________
-B-
cyclones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2015, 06:30 AM   #18 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,296
Default Re: HP Pavilion PC with new SSD

Is that the end that goes to the power switch and LEDs? Looks like the USB end to me.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2015, 02:49 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 456
Default Re: HP Pavilion PC with new SSD

It is the power end. The cables are color coated such as red, yellow, black and etc and it has 9-holes for the pins.. I checked with the new mobo you recommended and it looks like it would fit.
__________________
-B-
cyclones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2015, 04:04 PM   #20 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,296
Default Re: HP Pavilion PC with new SSD

The placement could all be wrong though as each board only sometimes conforms to the standard. You could try it, and if that doesn't work can plug them in individually yourself.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SSD and Cache SSD? I_Am_Skip System Upgrades 9 01-08-2012 09:19 PM
ocz ssd vs kingston ssd? gordonie Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 11-11-2011 07:28 PM
Can you have a SSD 60GB as a boot drive and a 500GB HDD for storage but have smart response enabled on the SSD? matteuk New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-27-2011 01:12 PM
mSATA SSD vs SATA SSD Jayce Laptops and Notebooks 1 06-29-2011 10:11 AM
SSD TRIM Function Intel X25 SSD thesilversavers Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 19 05-22-2011 10:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.