Status
Not open for further replies.

Alpin3star

Baseband Member
My current system is...

-HP Pavilion a6000n
-Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4200+ (2 CPUs), ~2.2GHz
-Memory: 2942MB RAM
-NVIDIA GeForce 6150SE with (122mb dedicated) and 394 approx total memory.
-Vista home premium (32 bit system)

I have no extreme experience with computers but am slowly learning. I got this computer for something around 100 bucks and figured it was worth the buy, now I'm looking to see what I should upgrade on the system and what would suffice for medium-high end gaming.

According to canyourunit.com I am doing fairly well on all components except my video card. However, I tried bringing up WoW for a simple test and the log-on screen is extremely laggy. I don't still have an active account for the game so I can't give a framerate but I'd say 10-15 fps on low settings. I found this to be extremely low and am wondering could all this be because of the graphics card or could it be another problem?

On a side note, I do not see a graphics card in my tower (got this info from dxdiag, it must be integrated?) but I do see an open slot, we tried substituting a friends in there but did not have the adapter for the monitor plug so we weren't able to test it out. So it boils down to IF the graphics card IS the problem, is it possible to get an adaptor, plug in a better graphics card, and run some games pretty decently?

Sorry for the novel >_<

Your integrated graphics will definitely slow down your games. It's an integrated chip, and an older one at that.

First of all we will need some info.

1. Does your motherboard have a pci-express slot? I assume it is since it's most likely an AM2 board, but proprietary boards have surprised me before.