Hows this - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-14-2006, 08:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14
Default Hows this

Ok so here is my build plan i was just wondering what you all thought.

Case:https://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produ...uctCode=141760
PSU:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817148027
CPU:https://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produ...ctCode=80725-R
MoBo:https://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produ...uctCode=241163
RAM:https://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produ...tCode=80098-34
HDD:https://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produ...01206-1-316603
Floppy:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16821152005
GFX:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130267
DVD:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827152058
OS:https://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produ...uctCode=604614
Keyboard/Mouse:https://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produ...uctCode=211100

So yea thats it i have monitars and speakers so i was just looking for comments and suggestions. thanks
__________________

jdoglike is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 08:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 125
Send a message via AIM to tommy8748
Default Re: Hows this

Quote:
Originally posted by jdoglike
Ok so here is my build plan i was just wondering what you all thought.

Case:https://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produ...uctCode=141760
PSU:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817148027
CPU:https://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produ...ctCode=80725-R
MoBo:https://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produ...uctCode=241163
RAM:https://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produ...tCode=80098-34
HDD:https://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produ...01206-1-316603
Floppy:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16821152005
GFX:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130267
DVD:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827152058
OS:https://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produ...uctCode=604614
Keyboard/Mouse:https://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produ...uctCode=211100

So yea thats it i have monitars and speakers so i was just looking for comments and suggestions. thanks
If your budget supports it then get a sli compatible psu and mobo to go along with your graphics card, incase you want to upgrade in the future. Other than that it looks like a great build.
__________________

__________________
Asrock 939 Dual-SATA2
AMD 3700+ @ 2.8GHz
1GB Corasair PC3200
ATI RADEON X1800GTO2
340GB HD
LOGYSIS 550W PSU
Antec Super Lanboy case
tommy8748 is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 09:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

I would get a better PSU. If you want to keep it cheap, go for a Fortron 450W. If you are willing to spend a little more, get the Antec Truepower 550W.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 10:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

Everything looks good. Aspire make O.K. PSUs, but not the best.

Hard drive is a bit small, is 80gb enough for you? If you're gaming, I don't think it will. I have 120gb and I've filled it all up.
cyrax is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 10:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Okay I have a few suggestions. New power supply: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104954

Motherboard is very nice, but why don't you change the ram and take advantage of the dual channel. Get some ram like this:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145440

As far as the CPU goes, get the X2 3800. It's got the same specs except it's clocked 200MHz lower. The difference can easily be made up with a slight overclock.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 06:53 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14
Default

Ok i think ill go with that power supply. but im going to stay with the 4200 and with my ram because my plan is to buy another stick of it and have 2gb dual channel. thanks any other comments.
jdoglike is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 07:08 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

seriously get the 3800+ it is a VERY easy overclock to reach the speed of the 4200+.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 04:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14
Default

Ok well im pretty decided on the 4200 partly cause i dont really want to overclock right away i dont think. so is there any other ideas or comments
__________________

jdoglike is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.