Hows this for $300? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-21-2006, 09:28 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 640
Send a message via AIM to schulz269
Default

I would say aim for a x2 3800+ there like $150 or around there might be a little cheaper if u dig for one. and if you are happy with the parts i would say get them. you know what the comptuer is beign used for but i woudl say get something better then a 3000+.
__________________

__________________
IMG]http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/9546/venomcopycghkcgto8.png[/IMG]
Heatware:
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=47066
schulz269 is offline  
Old 10-21-2006, 09:49 PM   #12 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

OK I think I'm decided on the 3700+, 1gb ram, and that mobo......the video card will come much later on, as I don't game much. Will I see a difference in performance with these parts compared to my current sig?

EDIT: schulz, I'm not interested in dual core for now. It's not like I multitask alot either. I can always get it next year.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-22-2006, 12:29 AM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 640
Send a message via AIM to schulz269
Default

ya that is tru. ya theres a big differnt in profromance then the rig ur useing right now.
__________________
IMG]http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/9546/venomcopycghkcgto8.png[/IMG]
Heatware:
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=47066
schulz269 is offline  
Old 10-22-2006, 01:39 AM   #14 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by b1gapl
I meant in his sig. It says his 3500+ is at 1.85GHz, instead of the stock 2.0.

The Athlon 3500 has 2.2Ghz stock. That is what mine is set to, and mine was pre-built from Best Buy.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 10-22-2006, 03:07 AM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

I actually think you'll be fine for now unless you're trying to play new games like oblivion or fear. If you really have to have it now it's fine but i'd recommend saving some more money first. Even a 3700+ proc isn't too much more and a card with dedicated video will give you a very decent system. If you could try and save like another $100-200 you'd have a nice rig.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 10-22-2006, 08:12 AM   #16 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

As I said before, I don't play games much like oblivion or fear. For now I just need it, because one of my bro's computer broke and I'm giving him my current sig...also using it as a folding comp too. But thanks to everybody who replied.

EDIT: I have another question. The mobo that I want to order says the onboard as 6150B and the others I see have no B next to the number. What does this mean?

EDIT: And I know this has been talked about forever, but what is the 3700+ equal to in terms of the intel P4.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-22-2006, 10:46 PM   #17 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

Mine is underclocked because I am having some heat issues.... I need to get some AS5, but I have neither the time nor money to spend right now re-doing the thermal compound, so I just have it underclocked.... gets the job done for WoW, since thats ALL it's used for right now... lol

The 3700+ would be about equal to a 3.7 Ghz P4.
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 10-23-2006, 02:03 AM   #18 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default

get only 1gb of ram and go for the 3700
__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 10-23-2006, 01:54 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 262
Default

I have a 3000+ and it's OC'd to 2.01 gHz, with 1 GB of RAM. Works perfectly fine.
__________________
viperman5000 is offline  
Old 10-24-2006, 07:08 AM   #20 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

OK, I got a little bit more money. About $130-150. And I was thinking of adding the 7600GT. The only games I play are CSS, waiting to play BF2 since I upgraded, LOTR: Battle of Middle Earth 2, and SC. With a 3700+, 1gb ram, and 7600GT, what settings can I expect on the games?
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.