how to wake up my HTPC cant find anywhere - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-20-2011, 12:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 868
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default how to wake up my HTPC cant find anywhere

i have a foxconn nettop with windows 7 installed on it as my media center.

bought the lenovo mini USB wireless keyboard for it.

but the problem is i canot get it to wake up from sleep or hibernation and theres no option to start from keyboard.


its very annoying when its the only thing i have to go and press 4 seconds to shut down and then press it again to wake up from sleep


i already went through all the power settings bu didnt find anything
__________________

__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline  
Old 12-24-2011, 07:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 868
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default Re: how to wake up my HTPC cant find anywhere

is there a better forum to ask this in? i would really appreciate any help.
__________________

__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline  
Old 12-24-2011, 08:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: how to wake up my HTPC cant find anywhere

Most computers tend to turn off the USB ports when in sleep mode, unless you have a powered one you might be out of luck.
__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 12-25-2011, 12:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
ninja troll
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,019
Default Re: how to wake up my HTPC cant find anywhere

what do you see for settings under:
>> control panel
>> hardware and sound
>> power options
>> change plan settings
>> change advanced power settings
- Sleep
- USB Settings
- Wireless adapter settings
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K
ASUS P8Z68-V LE LGA 1155 Intel Z68
Corsair 550VX
1Tb Samsung Spinpoint F3
1Tb WD Caviar Green
2Tb WD Caviar Green
8gb DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600
Sapphire Radeon 6870


jasonalwaysready is offline  
Old 12-25-2011, 03:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 868
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default Re: how to wake up my HTPC cant find anywhere

i belive theres a setting in bios to keep USB alive selective suspend or something like that. i tried enabled and disabled same result. unless its the actual remote that doesnt support this feature.
is wireless adapter part of this? i thought it was for wifi.
__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline  
Old 12-25-2011, 11:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
ninja troll
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,019
Default Re: how to wake up my HTPC cant find anywhere

do you have a wired keyboard that you could test it on?
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K
ASUS P8Z68-V LE LGA 1155 Intel Z68
Corsair 550VX
1Tb Samsung Spinpoint F3
1Tb WD Caviar Green
2Tb WD Caviar Green
8gb DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600
Sapphire Radeon 6870


jasonalwaysready is offline  
Old 12-26-2011, 01:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 868
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default Re: how to wake up my HTPC cant find anywhere

good idea. ill try that.
__________________

__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wake-on-LAN Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 04-20-2010 02:48 PM
motherboard does not wake up digifriend Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 01-02-2007 07:41 AM
Wake on lan Trifid Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 04-01-2006 07:34 AM
Project : WAKE UP NEO...... Harper Overclocking and Modding 105 11-14-2005 07:06 PM
wake-on LAN rookie1010 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 4 04-15-2004 06:21 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.