How to tell watts on PSU? That does't say it. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-06-2006, 05:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Org
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 138
Default How to tell watts on PSU? That does't say it.

My PSU doesn't say what band/type/watts/ect it is.

I'm guessing its 300ish watts but not sure it's doing fine now but I'm going add an exact cd drive/PCI fan with a Y splitter all my 4 pin's are in use and wasn't sure it it would take it.

Is their a way to tell?
__________________

Org is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 07:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default

You sure it's not just being covered on one of the other sides?
__________________

brinks is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 11:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Org
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 138
Default

It wasn't hidden I took it fully out. None thing

I just called the guys I got it from their records say its a model number HP-P3507F5 and thats all the info they had.

Googled it a bit guess its must be a Hipro 300-Watt ATX
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...?EdpNo=1030240

Is their a guild to how many drives/fans/extars I can have with 300 watts?

*Nice ava just say Ice age 2
__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition
-ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 64 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler
OCZ Reaper HPC 4GB (2 x 2GB) 1600
GIGABYTE GA-MA790XT-UD4P 790X Motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 4850 1GB GDDR3
Western Digital Caviar Black 500GB 7200 RPM Hard Drive
Vista Home Premium 64-bit
Antec Three Hundred Black Tower
Org is offline  
Old 12-07-2006, 12:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default

http://www.extreme.outervision.com/psucalculator.jsp

Use that and calculate how much power you are using now.
brinks is offline  
Old 12-07-2006, 12:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

model numbers tend to relate to the specifications of the psu.

Quote:
HP-P3507F5
i would guess it's 350w, the 7 is not part of the spec but indicative of something else. i'm just guessing based on experience though .
Nitestick is offline  
Old 12-07-2006, 01:08 AM   #6 (permalink)
Org
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 138
Default

brinks: Recommended PSU Wattage: 318
Thats with the extra cd drive/PCI IDE RAID card I plan on getting.
Didn't know my hd's rpm so I picked the highest rpm IDE one.

@nitestick: I though that too but when I googled it 99% said 300w
__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition
-ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 64 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler
OCZ Reaper HPC 4GB (2 x 2GB) 1600
GIGABYTE GA-MA790XT-UD4P 790X Motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 4850 1GB GDDR3
Western Digital Caviar Black 500GB 7200 RPM Hard Drive
Vista Home Premium 64-bit
Antec Three Hundred Black Tower
Org is offline  
Old 12-07-2006, 01:15 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default

If it's that high, I don't recommend you push your psu to the limit. You might damage other parts if the psu does die.

HP-P3507F5, yep I did a search too and says 300watts...
brinks is offline  
Old 12-07-2006, 01:40 AM   #8 (permalink)
Org
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 138
Default

Guess my psu is old and probly time to get a new one.

Any recommend 400-450w ish cheap/good ones out their?
__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition
-ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 64 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler
OCZ Reaper HPC 4GB (2 x 2GB) 1600
GIGABYTE GA-MA790XT-UD4P 790X Motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 4850 1GB GDDR3
Western Digital Caviar Black 500GB 7200 RPM Hard Drive
Vista Home Premium 64-bit
Antec Three Hundred Black Tower
Org is offline  
Old 12-07-2006, 02:16 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default

FSP Group (Fortron Source) 400Watt ($41.51)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104953

FSP Group (Fortron Source) 450 Watt ($53.99)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104954
brinks is offline  
Old 12-07-2006, 02:22 AM   #10 (permalink)
Org
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 138
Default

Main connector 20+4-Pin whats that mean? Will that work for me my current one is just 20.
__________________

__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition
-ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 64 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler
OCZ Reaper HPC 4GB (2 x 2GB) 1600
GIGABYTE GA-MA790XT-UD4P 790X Motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 4850 1GB GDDR3
Western Digital Caviar Black 500GB 7200 RPM Hard Drive
Vista Home Premium 64-bit
Antec Three Hundred Black Tower
Org is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.