How To Tell If I Have A Good PSU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-14-2006, 09:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 43
Default How To Tell If I Have A Good PSU

I was wondering how I can tell if I have a good PSU or not. My friend gave me this 400 watt PSU and was wondering if any of you could tell me what info to post here about it to see if it is ok.
__________________

tpacyga is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 09:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

What brand is it?
__________________

cyrax is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 09:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

You can check the ampage. You would want a lot of 12V.

Then you should run benchmarking programs while recording the voltages. The more close they are to the actual DC amounts the better.

Speedfan would be a program you can use. I use ASUSProbe.
turtile is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 09:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 43
Default

It is a Rosewill, and it says 12V on it, so is that good? I use 3DMark06 to benchmark, how can I record voltages? Also I want to say it came with his case, because I heard PSUs that come with cases are worse than ones you would buy separately, is that true?
tpacyga is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 10:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 430
Default

The number of amps on the 12v rail should be on the side of the psu.
curtcheese64 is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 07:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 43
Default

It is 12V. Is that all that really matters, besides the watts?
tpacyga is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 07:48 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

it is a good PSU if it delivers stable voltages, has enough ampers, and doesn't degrade quickly due to low quality components.

a cheap PSU often rates the wattage they can deliver at peak only.
a good PSU will rate the wattage they can deliver at a constant rate, and they can usually deliver up to 100W more if needed.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 03:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

The amount of AMPS on the 12V. Stable voltages are very important.
turtile is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 05:22 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 333
Default

Do a google search. Roswill is known for being cheap.
__________________

__________________
3 different OS, so yep I\'m confused.
m3incorp is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.