How to set up a portable hard drive ?? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-19-2009, 02:46 PM   #11 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: How to set up a portable hard drive ??

Essentially that's how it should go. Since you've already formatted it, it should just pop up once it installs the USB-PATA bridge drivers from the enclosure that gets automatically installed.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 11-25-2009, 05:39 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Runfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 186
Default Re: How to set up a portable hard drive ??

carnageX thanks for all your help. I got my new Rosewill external enclosure, put my HD in, plugged it into my computer, new hard ware found, Hitachi HD, needs formatted. went through Hardware Management and formatted, works like a champ.

I would have to guess the first enclosure I bought was or went bad , RMA back to NewEgg for a refund. I didnt think it was supposed to be that hard to firgure out........
__________________

Runfox is offline  
Old 11-26-2009, 06:08 AM   #13 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: How to set up a portable hard drive ??

Glad you got it all figured out. Yeah, they're not supposed to be hard to figure out, but the enclosure also isn't supposed to be bad out of the box lol. Glad its working for you now.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard Drive Cloning Problem Armand1880 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 11-05-2009 09:51 AM
HELP!! My hard drive will not boot! ehc68 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 15 01-29-2009 04:33 PM
Move Steam To Another Hard Drive Osiris PC Gaming 0 12-28-2008 11:28 AM
Problem occurred when plugging in floppy drive. WasTech Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 76 08-16-2008 04:36 PM
Help a newb: simple issue with hard drive copying? AppleBag Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-12-2007 01:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.