How much power do I need? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-18-2007, 03:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1
Default How much power do I need?

For a relatively low end system running a Pentium Dual Core chip? What are the determining factors in choosing the PSU? If I bought a case (yes, it's cheap, this is a low budget build) with a 430W PSU, should I be worried or plan to buy something seperate? Thanks!
__________________

heavyartillery is offline  
Old 09-18-2007, 05:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default Re: How much power do I need?

Definitely buy a PSU seperate from the case. You'll never need over like 500 watt. Newegg.com - FSP Group (Fortron Source) AX450-PN ATX12V 450W Power Supply 110/240V NEMKO, TUV, CSA, IEC, UL, CE - Retail That's a really good, Cheap 450 watter.
__________________

__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Old 09-18-2007, 07:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: How much power do I need?

Quote:
Originally Posted by M733mhz View Post
Definitely buy a PSU seperate from the case. You'll never need over like 500 watt. Newegg.com - FSP Group (Fortron Source) AX450-PN ATX12V 450W Power Supply 110/240V NEMKO, TUV, CSA, IEC, UL, CE - Retail That's a really good, Cheap 450 watter.
if he ever has plans to upgrade within 10 years, he should just go and get himself a minimum 520 and generally a 600 watt psu...

the stock case one will do you fine, just be sure to have cash at hand incase it dies (mine did, a 450 watter in about half a year of 24/7 usage)

for your pc, that will supply enough power, but it may not be stable (its ok) and won't have a great life
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 09-18-2007, 07:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: How much power do I need?

in ten years we may "need" 2000watt power supplies. ten years is way too far ahead to think about in the computer world.
as of right now, that 450 m733mhz suggested is fine if you arent going to run sli graphics cards or a really high end single card.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 09-18-2007, 08:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: How much power do I need?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
in ten years we may "need" 2000watt power supplies. ten years is way too far ahead to think about in the computer world.
as of right now, that 450 m733mhz suggested is fine if you arent going to run sli graphics cards or a really high end single card.
haha thats to true, in some of the newer houses there including one or two wall sockets that can handle more wattage, as some people have 1000W psu plus a printer 2 monitors externa hard drives, a modem, router, and a 600wat sound system. and then they wonder why there house burnt down lol. these sockets dont put out that much energy. so becarefull what u plug into the wall.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 09-18-2007, 11:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default Re: How much power do I need?

You gotta remember if a PSU goes down if has the potential to take out everything with it, It's not something I'd toy with.
__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Old 09-18-2007, 11:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: How much power do I need?

Newegg.com - XCLIO GOODPOWER 500W ATX 500W Power Supply 115/230 V UL, CUL, TUV, CB, VDE, FIMKO, DEMKO, NEMKO, SEMKO - Retail
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 09-19-2007, 12:04 AM   #8 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: How much power do I need?

Quote:
Originally Posted by M733mhz View Post
Definitely buy a PSU seperate from the case. You'll never need over like 500 watt. Newegg.com - FSP Group (Fortron Source) AX450-PN ATX12V 450W Power Supply 110/240V NEMKO, TUV, CSA, IEC, UL, CE - Retail That's a really good, Cheap 450 watter.
I would go with that psu or even the 400W version...
they've served me well for a while without a single error.

Theyre not even that expensive.
I dont think he needs 520W psu , especially fot a budget pc.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 09-19-2007, 12:17 AM   #9 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: How much power do I need?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amd gt player View Post
haha thats to true, in some of the newer houses there including one or two wall sockets that can handle more wattage, as some people have 1000W psu plus a printer 2 monitors externa hard drives, a modem, router, and a 600wat sound system. and then they wonder why there house burnt down lol. these sockets dont put out that much energy. so becarefull what u plug into the wall.
lol or like forty sets of christmas lights...
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Echo Star 600W 20+4 Pin ATX Power Supply commandercup New Systems | Building and Buying 3 09-04-2007 07:21 PM
Power Supply Brinson Overclocking and Modding 4 06-13-2007 09:12 AM
Antec Sonata II Power Problem: BSoderstrom Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 06-12-2007 05:27 PM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
Can I use ATX Power supply without -5 volt out jar99 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 05-12-2007 02:28 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.