how exactly do you pinpoint a problem? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-22-2006, 12:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 22
Default how exactly do you pinpoint a problem?

I know that i have a problem with my build but how can i figure what the problem is? I know i'm supposed to install the ram video, cpu and heatsink. But that's already 4 variables there. If there is a problem with the mobo, no matter what it is, does it not post?
__________________

Saucz is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 12:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

you describe what you have, what you've done, and the symptoms in the Hardware troubleshooting forum. I mean, here is good too, but searching the troubleshooting forum may lend more results.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 07:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default

to pinpoint problems it takes time, but when you put so much money into the computer youll take the time to test everything, running programs prime helps. and checking your drivers and stuff like that also if its a hardware problem bios beeps help, my mobo has a little lcd display that tells me =)
__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 07:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

look up diagnostic flowcharts. in diagnosing a pc you basically work by elimination. you do one thing to see what sort of outcome that gives and based on that information you can get closer to the answer
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 09:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

I like to disassemble the entire computer down to the Power supply, motherboard, processor and ram. Start adding components one at a time, and when it no longer works, you know what piece is causing the problem. I actually had a 10/100 lan card preventing a computer from booting. Don't ask, I don't know.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-23-2006, 04:24 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i've had the same problem with a lan card. basically anything can be suspect in a pc. of course some things are far more likely than others but don't rule anything out. you must eliminate possible causes one by one
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.