How does this look? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-31-2008, 09:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
richfish57
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Question How does this look?

ThermalTake CASE SHARK VA7000BWA BLK
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 (4 x 2.40 GHZ) G0 1066FSB - 8 MB
ASUS SKT-775 P5K PREMIUM/WIFI S/L 1333FSB
4GB DDR2 PC-6400 800 MHZ (4 x 1 GB 800)
ASUS 512MB NVIDIA GeForce 9800GTX PCI-E 2.0
HIPER POWER 880W Low Noise/SLI Ready
640 GB SATA HDD UDMA 300 7200 16MB
ASUS DVD±RW 20x DRW-2014L1T Black - LIGHTSCRIBE (SATA)
Creative X-FI Xtreme Gamer 7.1
Fast 10/100 Ethernet Lan (Broadband Ready)
ThermalTake Blue ORB II
Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP3 32-BIT

Thats everything to do with my new pc. I know little of hardware so I decided to ask here to see what area this is in. I want it for gaming so I need to know how it will hold up to modern games.
 
Old 06-01-2008, 01:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 43
Default Re: How does this look?

I'm not used to these forums and a bit outdated when it comes to new rigs in the last 6 months but here's my two cents :

ASUS Mobo is a NO NO for me. It used to be a good company. My current Asus P5B which is no more than a year old need to be replaced. USB ports are ALL dead. After some searching, I realize its a known bug on those board. USB dyings... anyway it ****in sucks. Same problem was recently reported on some high-end ASUS boards... wtf is that.

Do you really need a top notch sound card and DVD writer? Save on those and get 2 HD instead. HD fails sometimes you know. Having 2 is not expensive and quite helpful. I also like having the OS on one and everything else on the other.
__________________

__________________
Core2 Duo E6300
Asus P5B
2 X 1024 MB Kingston DDR2 800mhz
Asus GeForce 7600GT
fadedstar is offline  
Old 06-01-2008, 03:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: How does this look?

Newegg.com - ABIT IP35 Pro LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards

Newegg.com - XIGMATEK HDT-S1283 120mm Rifle CPU Cooler - CPU Fans & Heatsinks

Sound card is totally up to you. If you are not an audiophile, there's not really a need for it.

DVD burner comes in handy... especially if you are dealing with video.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 06-02-2008, 01:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: How does this look?

ASUS motherboards are excellent.

Don't let one bad experience put you off them, computer parts fail all the time.




You could probably change the power supply to something like a Corsair 520hx or a 750tx

Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply 100 - 240 V UL, CE, CB, TUV, FCC, CCC - Power Supplies
__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 06-02-2008, 02:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: How does this look?

Is that Fast 10/100 Ethernet LAN an external card or just listed from your motherboard? Because your motherboard already has dual onboard gigabit LAN (10/100/1000 Ethernet) by default so if that was an additional NIC, you don't need that.... unless you need 3 ethernet ports for some reason.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 06-02-2008, 10:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: How does this look?

I say go with vista 64 bit to have DX10 experience
__________________

Fat.Clown is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.