how do you transfer files on a dead computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-28-2007, 11:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 204
Default how do you transfer files on a dead computer

to a new computer?

i thought it was as simple as taking that hard drive and inserting it into my new computer, but the guy said it was too hard. he said something about my mobo having only 1 ide slot? but ithought the ide cable can be used by 2?

and how would i go about transferring the hard drive data onto my new computer?
__________________

__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 955 3.2GHz
Artic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
ASUS M4A785TD-V EVO
2x 2GB Patriot DDR3 1333
eVGA GTX 460 768MB
500GB Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM SATA
LITE-ON DVD
LG CD
Cooler Master Silent Pro 600W
Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
turboxchaz is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 11:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: how do you transfer files on a dead computer

Take out the HD. Set it to slave and the primary one to master. Plug it into the empty slot of the primary. Its really simple. After that, its copy'n'paste.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 01:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: how do you transfer files on a dead computer

well u can use 2 if u take out one of your CD drives or get another cable for a few bucks. It would be alot simpilar if u had a sata drive though.
darksideleader is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 12:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 38
Default Re: how do you transfer files on a dead computer

Did this just the other day.

As peterhuang913 said you need to set the hard drive you are putting in as slave (secondary) and the one already in the pc as master (primary). Have a look on the front of your hard drive, next to the IDE pins is a group of 9 pins. I don't know the exact name but i called them jumper pins.

There should be a little connector on the jumpers. Take this off and consult the printed information, usually on the top of the hard drive or in a manual about which pins you should join together with this. This tells the hard drive what mode it should be in.

Your motherboard probably does only have one IDE . The IDE cable connecting the original hard drive to the mother board should have another IDE plug. You should connect the master using the plug at the end of the cable and the slave using the plug lower down the cable. Make sure to connect the four pin power connectors as well.

Boot up your pc and the two IDE devices should be detected and your pc will boot to windows. From my experience IDE can be temperamental. If it doesn't work check the jumpers and IDE connections and try again.

I'm not sure if this is correct but windows can only recognise hard drives formatted on earlier or current operating systems. For example if you are running windows 98 it will not detect a hard drive formatted in windows xp. But windows xp will recognise drives formatted in windows xp, 98,95 etc. Don't take this as gospel though as i'm not 100% sure about this.
ttoadish is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 03:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 204
Default Re: how do you transfer files on a dead computer

ok i tried doing this last night. apparently i dont have a cable or anything and couldn't set master and slave.

i took out my cd drive and left my dvd drive in there, and connected my dvd drive to my old HDD to my ide slot.

@ttoadish:
what do u mean connector? is it a little wire? i know where on the HDD it says which pin to use for master/slave

my mobo has one IDE for sure. my original HDD is a sata unit. my old HDD is from like 5 years ago lol. my original one i just bought like last week. both are windows xp.
__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 955 3.2GHz
Artic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
ASUS M4A785TD-V EVO
2x 2GB Patriot DDR3 1333
eVGA GTX 460 768MB
500GB Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM SATA
LITE-ON DVD
LG CD
Cooler Master Silent Pro 600W
Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
turboxchaz is offline  
Old 06-30-2007, 08:28 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 38
Default Re: how do you transfer files on a dead computer

They look like this

http://www.liangtec.com/pin_8.jpg

for me , there was already one on each hard drive. I don't know where to get them if you don't have any. maybe someone else will know.
__________________

ttoadish is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!!!! I disabled my graphics card by accident, need help!! Wildside Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 06-16-2007 07:29 PM
Cant seem to fix this dang computer morrty Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 06-11-2007 11:09 PM
How to transfer files over a wireless network in Windows XP Home? Chris Down Microsoft Windows and Software 3 05-26-2007 11:29 AM
Strange Problem - Cannot get mp3 or wma files to play but wav files will play..read afulls04 Computer Audio and Multimedia 8 04-23-2007 04:57 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.