How do I transfer just the OS to new SSD? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-15-2014, 12:15 AM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: US
Posts: 15
Default Re: How do I transfer just the OS to new SSD?

Originally Posted by iFargle View Post
Use dd on a Linux disc. I've done it before and it works flawlessly
dd is nice, It would not work for the OPs request.
dd copies the drive bit by bit.
It can be set for less than the whole drive, due to disk fragmentation it is pretty unlikely that windows occupies a single continuous section of the drive.
dd certainly could be useful for copying the boot-loader which may or may not be copyable via the method described in my previous post.

7Priest7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 07:15 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
fallenapples's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 373
Default Re: How do I transfer just the OS to new SSD?

I found cloning to be the simplest way. Acronis True Image. Took about half an hour for me . Worked great.

|ASUS M5A97 R2.0| AMD FX 6300 3.5 GHZ|16GB (4x4) 1600MHZ DDR3 RAM|ASUS Radeon HD 7770 1GB| Kingston HyperX RAM|Kingston Hyper X 120 GB SSD|WD Green 1TB HDD|

|ASRock N68C-GS FX|AMD Athlon II X3 450 3.2 GHZ|G.Skill 8GB (2x4) 1600MHZ DRR3 RAM |Geforce 9800 GT 1GB DDR5|Seagate 500 GB HDD|

|Macbook Pro- Intel Core i5 2.4 GHZ|8GB DDR3 RAM|Samsung Evo 840 240GB SSD|

fallenapples is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 07:05 PM   #13 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,954
Default Re: How do I transfer just the OS to new SSD?

I just bumped into this program. It lets you move applications to new locations and "re-maps" in Windows. You should be able to use it to move what you don't want on the SSD.

Download Application Mover - MajorGeeks


Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SSD and Cache SSD? I_Am_Skip System Upgrades 9 01-08-2012 08:19 PM
ocz ssd vs kingston ssd? gordonie Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 11-11-2011 06:28 PM
Can you have a SSD 60GB as a boot drive and a 500GB HDD for storage but have smart response enabled on the SSD? matteuk New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-27-2011 12:12 PM
mSATA SSD vs SATA SSD Jayce Laptops and Notebooks 1 06-29-2011 09:11 AM
SSD TRIM Function Intel X25 SSD thesilversavers Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 19 05-22-2011 09:04 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:16 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.