How do I know if I have PCI Express 2.0 or not? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-31-2012, 03:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Missouri, U.S.A.
Posts: 76
Default How do I know if I have PCI Express 2.0 or not?

I was looking to buy a new video card, and I had my eyes on MSI GTX 570 here, and I was wondering how I can find out if my motherboard supports 2.0 or not.
This is my motherboard here. I bought it with a bare bone kit a while back. It doesn't say whether or not it supports PCI-E 2.0 or not. It just say's PCI-E x16. The video card it came with was I think a radeon 4350, which is 2.0 according to newegg. Is there any way visually to tell what kind it is?

I'm probably being overly cautious I know, especially being that newegg only has 3 regular PCI express cards. But is there any surefire way of knowing what pci version I have?
__________________

Bluehotdog5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 03:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: How do I know if I have PCI Express 2.0 or not?

It doesn't really matter, as PCI-e 2.0 is back compatible with 1.0
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 03:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Missouri, U.S.A.
Posts: 76
Default Re: How do I know if I have PCI Express 2.0 or not?

So on the off chance that I have only 1.0, that won't put a bottleneck on the power coming from the card?
Bluehotdog5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 03:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: How do I know if I have PCI Express 2.0 or not?

You have 2.0 16x on the top slot.

If you put a 570 in a gen 1 slot it would essentially half the bandwidth available to the card.

Easiest way to tell is use GPU-Z with a card running in the top slot.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 04:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Missouri, U.S.A.
Posts: 76
Default Re: How do I know if I have PCI Express 2.0 or not?

I knew there was a program for that. I've used GPU-Z before, but I couldn't remember the name.

Under bandwidth it says 8 gb per second, which according to wikipedia is PCI-E 2.0. Thank's for the help
Bluehotdog5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 04:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: How do I know if I have PCI Express 2.0 or not?

Make sure that your IGP isn't selected.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 04:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Missouri, U.S.A.
Posts: 76
Default Re: How do I know if I have PCI Express 2.0 or not?

What do you mean IGP?
EDIT: oh you mean my integrated card, no I have the Radeon 4350 selected. the Integrated card isn't even on there.
Bluehotdog5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 04:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: How do I know if I have PCI Express 2.0 or not?

Ah ok was just making sure.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do PCI express 2.0 GPU's run at 1/2 speed on reg. PCI slots? Bl@ckburn PC Gaming 3 04-26-2008 12:01 AM
PCI-SIG Announces PCI Express 3.0 Details Wildside New Systems | Building and Buying 3 08-10-2007 03:17 PM
will pci express x16 cards work on pci-e x8 slots? mstshtml New Systems | Building and Buying 7 08-21-2006 10:45 PM
does pci express work with regular pci jrmints Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 08-19-2006 02:35 PM
MSI Radeon X300 PCI Express X Albatron GeForce 6600 PCI ciroalb Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 10 06-19-2005 02:40 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.