How do I know I have a dead motherboard or what??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-14-2010, 03:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7
Question How do I know I have a dead motherboard or what???

I have a Gigabyte motherboard GA-MA785GM-US2H, it has ddr2 ram 4 gig total, a phenom processor x4, 630 watt psu.
I have tested the power supply multiple times and I get power when using a tester. So one of my ?'s is can I use a POST card to pull codes off of it, if the motherboard won't power up. (I ordered one last week so I should be getting it soon) This is not my main computer, but I would like to get it up and running! Ever since I have had this board it seems like I have had problems, with this computer. I have sent the board back to the manufacturer, and the said part is to be ok, I sent the cpu back to amd and they sent me a new one. Gigabyte on the other hand I'm not sure if they sent me a new one. Recently I took the whole system and moved it to a new case, and now it won't power up or anything! B4 at least I would get error codes when it fired up! But now it seems like I'm not going to do anyhting. This is y I bought all new stuff! But I would still like to fix this, cause the unit is maybe a year or less old. So I should be able to sell it if I can get it running properly. So can someone lead me in the right direction! Thanks!
__________________

pbracing33b is offline  
Old 12-14-2010, 04:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Chillstalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Between a rock and a hard place
Posts: 73
Default Re: How do I know I have a dead motherboard or what???

Possibly short circuiting. Make sure no components are touching the case and that you haven't tightened the screws to tight on the mobo
__________________

Chillstalker is offline  
Old 12-14-2010, 06:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: How do I know I have a dead motherboard or what???

Just because the power supply is testing good for having the correct voltages that doesn't mean it's good. It has to be able to product those values under load. It's a 630 watt power supply, what brand is it? It sounds like a power issue to me.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 12-15-2010, 02:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7
Default Re: How do I know I have a dead motherboard or what???

Hey chill - I checked all the stuff that you told me and that seems to be fine, and Slaymate, Shouldn't a psu tester put it under a load, (isn't that y they make testers?) bc I thought that was what the testers were suppose to do? And the brand is XION model no: XOB-630p12n
pbracing33b is offline  
Old 12-15-2010, 05:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: How do I know I have a dead motherboard or what???

A cheap power supply tester is only checking voltages. The equipment needed to actually place a "load" on your power supply cost $1000's. Here's a webpage to a Load Tester Chroma Systems Solutions - 63600 Series DC Electronic Load.

XION? I'll bet money that's your problem. A 630 watt XION power supply would probably be rated as a 400-450 watt unit by Antec, Corsair or any other respectable manufacturer.

We can find you a decent power supply but we need to know what components your using. I don't see where you mentioned what video card your using.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 12-15-2010, 05:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7
Default Re: How do I know I have a dead motherboard or what???

Just an update, I did get it started apparently I had a plug installed that I didn't need to install, the way I found this was by unplugging all connections and starting with one a time, restarting the computer each time til it would restart an volia I found one that didn't need connected(even though I thought that it did need to be connected) bc the computer wouldn't restart with that one plugged in! So I get all this done then my old OS didn't want to start, in fact I have had problems with this computer for running windows xp, it never like it, so today I decided to install win 7 to it, and now it works fine! So what was wrong with the old OS and y does the new OS work everything fine? It seems to have fixed every issue that I had b4 with the old OS! I really don't understand y this is? can someone explain to me y one (OS) would work and not the other? And thanks slay I didn't know that there was different ps testers, (I am still very new to this field of work so I am still learning everyday).
pbracing33b is offline  
Old 12-15-2010, 06:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: How do I know I have a dead motherboard or what???

Out of dumb struck curiosity, which plug didn't have to be plugged in? (pics?)

This doesn't sound right at all.
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 12-15-2010, 11:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7
Default Re: How do I know I have a dead motherboard or what???

The motherboard manual said it was a fan plug that supplies power, it had 4 prongs, ( which my case fans only had 3 prong ones any how). Well I inserted a 4 prong wire that was linked to the psu. (bc I thought that was where it went) That same prong powered my hard drive to (to give you an idea of which loom of wires I am talking about). I unplugged that one and things started working! It might has shorted something. Idk. I also chaged power cords, (but I don't think that was it, bc it was still doing it after I plugged it into the psu). I don't have any pics, but I can pull one off a website, and kinda of show u which one I am talking about.
pbracing33b is offline  
Old 12-15-2010, 11:59 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7
Smile Re: How do I know I have a dead motherboard or what???

What I am referring to is in between the firewireplug and the USB plugs, it is a white four pronged plug. The manufacturer is calling it a system fan plug. I am having trouble pulling a pic that will post to this forum so the best thing is just go to tigerdirect.com or newegg.com and you can see exactly what I am talking about. This is the motherboard:ma785gm-us2h
__________________

pbracing33b is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dead Motherboard? Tenenbaum Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 16 02-24-2009 06:30 PM
Dead motherboard? Hussein19891 System Upgrades 11 05-29-2008 07:10 PM
Dead Motherboard? Cerulean Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 12-09-2007 09:29 AM
motherboard is dead! pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 14 05-31-2007 09:36 PM
new motherboard, seems dead HELP! PsychoticBoy Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 05-28-2004 02:28 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.