how do i? im new please help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-08-2009, 03:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 6
Default how do i? im new please help

ok i have an old compaq presario, the hard drive is almost full and i want to add second internal one. the second one is out of a computer i already have and it has nothing i need oe want on it. i need to learn how to erase everything on it and install it as a slave on my computer. can somebody please help me out with step by step instructions PLEASE!!! and the hd is an ide
__________________

viperfan1987 is offline  
Old 04-08-2009, 03:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: how do i? im new please help

This is pretty accurate.

Guide to Installing IDE devices
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 04-08-2009, 03:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 146
Default Re: how do i? im new please help

Ok first you need to make sure you have the right type of connection for the HD, it should be either a e-sata cable, pata cable or ribbon cable. you then plug it in, along with the power cable, and boot your computer.
then you go to My Computer in your start menu, and look for your new drive that you just connected. right click on it and select format. formatting the hard drive will erase all of its current files. when it says what type of file system you want to format it in, select NTFS (windows nt file system) much grater security and features then a fat, fat32, or vfat file system. click format, wait for it to format and you should have a completely new hard drive for extra storage.
808Alaska is offline  
Old 04-08-2009, 03:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 6
Default Re: how do i? im new please help

thanks gonna give it a try right now
viperfan1987 is offline  
Old 04-08-2009, 03:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: how do i? im new please help

Once the drive is installed you can format the drive within windows to erase the information.

Open my computer. Right mouse click on the drive in question. Select format and follow instructions.

Make absolutely sure you select the correct drive.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.