How do I figure out what socket my processor is? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-16-2006, 07:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 209
Default How do I figure out what socket my processor is?

I have a Pentium 4 1.6GHz and would like to upgrade to 2.0 or better.
__________________

teknikull is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 07:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Download CPU-Z and run it. In the processor tab, it will tell you.
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 08:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 209
Default

it says:
mPGA-478
so does taht mean its a socket 478?
teknikull is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 08:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

yes
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 08:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 209
Default

can you help me find a cheap (i mean 0-60$) 2.0 GHz pentium 4 socket 478
teknikull is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 08:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

doesn't seem to be a very significant upgrade... from 1.6ghz to 2.0 ghz...
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 10:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Not only that, you probably won't get very far with just $60. Unless you feel brave enough to try eBay, that is.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 02:01 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 325
Default

u may be lucky cause its an outdated processor
unless theyve stopped makin em
__________________
Athlon 64 3200+
GigaByte GA K8N-SLI
1GB Corsair Select Value
GigaByte 7300GS
80GB maxtor Hard Disk
Samsung Writemaster DVD-RWDL 16x
Thermaltake mambo case w/ 430 PSU
Windows XP Pro
17\" Proview LCD
mophead740 is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 05:48 AM   #9 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default

i wouldnt even bother with an upgrade like that if i were you. you wont see much better performance and it would leave you with a perfectly good P4 doing nothing.
when you have collected some real money, build a new PC and put that old one to some other use
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 09:33 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the Pentium 4 1.6 has a 400MHZ FSB, so you are limited to that.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.