How crappy is the Celeron e1500 dual core? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-30-2009, 01:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default How crappy is the Celeron e1500 dual core?

Microcenter has it and a motherboard for $69.99...a very cheap combo...

Anyone have any experience?
__________________

__________________
Antec 300 Illusion
430w Antec Earthwatts
AMD Q4 640 Propus
2x4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
750gb Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive
Brinson is offline  
Old 09-30-2009, 09:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Equator Gringo
 
james.wired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Panama
Posts: 2,318
Default Re: How crappy is the Celeron e1500 dual core?

All depends on what you are using it for. Honestly, as far as performance, it's dated...a lot. I would go for something better, seems kind of a waste of money..
__________________

__________________

PII 940 :: 5870 :: Rage powered
james.wired is offline  
Old 09-30-2009, 10:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Re: How crappy is the Celeron e1500 dual core?

Planning on building a media center to stream hulu feeds and play divx files at 640 x 480 resolution.
__________________
Antec 300 Illusion
430w Antec Earthwatts
AMD Q4 640 Propus
2x4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
750gb Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive
Brinson is offline  
Old 09-30-2009, 03:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: How crappy is the Celeron e1500 dual core?

If you're only playing stuff at that resolution, I guess it would be alright. I still would get something better, that way if you ever need to play HD stuff, you'd have enough power.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 09-30-2009, 08:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aaronkupen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,848
Send a message via AIM to aaronkupen Send a message via Yahoo to aaronkupen
Default Re: How crappy is the Celeron e1500 dual core?

Although people here don't seem to give low end parts the credit they deserve, I do think you should try to go for something a bit more powerful. For your purposes I would say the e1500 would be fine, but if you got something like this ...

Newegg.com - Intel Celeron E3200 Wolfdale 2.4GHz 1MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops

It would last you much longer and you would be satisfied with it much more.
__________________
Desktop - Antec Sonata III
Intel Core i3 540
4 GB DDR3-1600 memory
ATI Radeon HD 5670
Windows Vista Business x64
aaronkupen is offline  
Old 09-30-2009, 09:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Re: How crappy is the Celeron e1500 dual core?

Been trying to decide between the e1500 (mb & cpu $69.99), the wolfdale you reccomend, ($53+about $30 for motherboard at least), and a mid range X2. Still haven't decided which one to settle on. e1500 is cheapeast, but for $20 more, I can get the wolfdale, then for $20 more, an X2, then for $20 more, I could get X, for $20 more, Y, and for $20 more, Z!

Its hard to shop frugally when such miniscule price differences make such a difference, heh.
__________________
Antec 300 Illusion
430w Antec Earthwatts
AMD Q4 640 Propus
2x4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
750gb Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive
Brinson is offline  
Old 09-30-2009, 10:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aaronkupen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,848
Send a message via AIM to aaronkupen Send a message via Yahoo to aaronkupen
Default Re: How crappy is the Celeron e1500 dual core?

If you weren't hard set on the celeron e1500, then I would suggest getting the wolfdale I sent you. That wolfdale is better than the cpu I have on my "gaming computer"; it will be perfect for your needs.

Also in the future if you need more performance out if it, you can overclock that thing majorly, and the 1 MB of cache compared to 512 KB won't be as crippling.

Ultimately it depends on what you actually think you need out of your system, for me that wolfdale is probably as good if not better than any cpu I currently have on any of my machines, but for some on this board they would probably laugh at its lack of power (compared to an core i7 and the like).
__________________
Desktop - Antec Sonata III
Intel Core i3 540
4 GB DDR3-1600 memory
ATI Radeon HD 5670
Windows Vista Business x64
aaronkupen is offline  
Old 10-03-2009, 09:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: How crappy is the Celeron e1500 dual core?

The celeron is so temptinga t that price...can't you still OC the **** out of it, though? I would think it'd be fine for what your needs are, especially if you can squeeze some more performance out of it.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 10-03-2009, 09:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: How crappy is the Celeron e1500 dual core?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hikaricloud View Post
If you're only playing stuff at that resolution, I guess it would be alright. I still would get something better, that way if you ever need to play HD stuff, you'd have enough power.
A Celeron would be plenty of power for HD video playback provided it's paired with a suitable gpu, even a Atom+ION can easily handle blu ray playback.

Personally I would still go for the Wolfdale since it gives you a newer architecture, more l2, VT support, and a slightly higher clock speed.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 10-05-2009, 01:23 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 27
Default Re: How crappy is the Celeron e1500 dual core?

I have a box of assorted celeron cpu's i only use to test hardware with. In my opinion there budget cpu's & even the athlon x2 64 are starting to be so cheap these days that there more or less budget cpu's but still out perform celerons.
__________________

VsUK81 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
swapping dual core with core 2 duo wikcdstylee Overclocking and Modding 5 04-14-2009 05:10 PM
Good article on dual channel vs tri channel on Core i7. TheOtis Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 04-11-2009 06:33 PM
What To Look For When Buying Computer Components Luke Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 25 01-07-2009 09:09 PM
Dual core vs Core 2duo renegade4141 System Upgrades 12 03-06-2008 05:41 PM
Core 2 Duo (Dual Core Settings) Nechen New Systems | Building and Buying 0 04-06-2007 11:57 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.