how can i test my PS? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-23-2006, 12:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 22
Default how can i test my PS?

I ordered a system by mail and my shipment is coming in seperate orders. I received my PS unit with the case, but the order with my motherboard and CPU is coming at a later date. So what i am thinking to do...it might be wrong, but I want to test the PS so am thinking to plug it into the surge protecter and just turn the PS on without it being connected to the motherboard to see if the fan works, then use a multimeter, by putting the positive probe (red) of the multimeter into the 12v socket of the molex and then the negative probe (black) into the ground. Am expecting a reading of 12 volts.

Can someone help me out.....I don't want to get electrocuted on my first and last build.

__________________

Arcilles is offline  
Old 09-23-2006, 12:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default

I don't get it, is the motherboard still on its way, or do you already have it? I don't think the motherboard will power up without a CPU installed, so you won't be able to test the PSU.
__________________

__________________


SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Old 09-23-2006, 12:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

http://www.ochardware.com/articles/psuvolt/psuvolt.html
Vybuni is offline  
Old 09-23-2006, 12:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 22
Default

the motherboard is on its way.
Arcilles is offline  
Old 09-23-2006, 12:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 22
Default

Vybuni ty for the website.
Arcilles is offline  
Old 09-23-2006, 12:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Vybuni
http://www.ochardware.com/articles/psuvolt/psuvolt.html

"... use a wire trick to power the PSU up."
Ah! Didn't know that one! There you go, just do as the website directs. Thanks Vybuni.
__________________

Meithan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.