How can i tell............? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-13-2006, 06:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2
Unhappy How can i tell............?

Hey guys im new here and i wanted to know how i can tell whether my hard drive is ATA or IDE because i plan on buying another one for more space.............
__________________

Ace_Muska is offline  
Old 07-13-2006, 06:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

ATA & IDE is the same this.....

IDE uses a flat wide ribbon cable tp attach the HDD to the motherboard. It is about as wide as a credit card is tall....
Below is an IDE hard drive



SATA is another type of interface. It has an 'L' shaped plastic connecter at each end. It is MUCH smaller than an IDE cable.
Below is a SATA hard drive
__________________

__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 07-13-2006, 06:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2
Default

ok so if i open my comp i should b able 2 tell right?
Ace_Muska is offline  
Old 07-13-2006, 07:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Yes. Use the images above to check whether it's IDE or SATA. Some HD's may tell you what interface it is.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 07-13-2006, 07:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

here is a tip, if the wire is HUGE its IDE, if its small its SATA. and i highly doubt u have a scuzzy rig.
john3 is offline  
Old 07-13-2006, 07:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 190
Send a message via AIM to the yellow one
Default

ata is the real name. ide is just another name for it.
__________________

__________________
I am the yellow one.
the yellow one is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.