Hoping to find my bottleneck - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-17-2009, 08:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5
Talking Hoping to find my bottleneck

Hey guys, I am new to this forum and to computer upgrading and I was hoping for some help. I purchased a computer and I was wondering what the best way to sink some money into it would be. These are my specs.

HP Pavilion a6150e PC
-
Windows Vista Home Premium (32-bit)
- AMD Athlon(TM) 64 X2 4400+ dual-core - 2.3GHz
- 2GB DDR2-667MHz dual channel SDRAM (2x1024)
- 128MB NVIDIA GeForce 8300GS, DVI-I, TV-out, VGA
- 802.11 b/g Wireless LAN PCI Card
- 400GB 7200 rpm SATA 3Gb/s hard drive
- ATSC-NTSC TV tuner with PVR, FM tuner, remot

Any idea what i can do to make this thing awesome? I also have a 24 inch acer lcd monitor and I want to make the best of it. What is keeping this computer from being competent. I want to be able to download youtube videos at lightening speeds and I want videos to look their best. Any suggestions?
__________________

broctune is offline  
Old 03-17-2009, 08:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Hoping to find my bottleneck

do you game, if so get rid of that 8300GS.

how much do you want to spend?
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 03-17-2009, 09:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: Hoping to find my bottleneck

i could spend up to 200. though im not against spending more than that. I dont really game much but I like RTS. I would say that i want things to be smooth more for downloading/buffering video and clarity while watching video. Is my processor just kinda crappy? Thanks for the reply by the way I really appreciate it.
broctune is offline  
Old 03-17-2009, 09:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Hoping to find my bottleneck

The processor is decent at best..

If you have $200, I'd spent it on this:

X2 7750+ Black Edition (double check to see if your board supports)
HD 4670
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 03-17-2009, 09:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5
Default

What should i know about my motherboard? how do i know if it will be able to handle this?

how difficult is it to make a switch of something like that. would i need any sort of solder or something? Thanks again i appreciate it.
broctune is offline  
Old 03-17-2009, 09:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Hoping to find my bottleneck

Looking online I don't think the 6150's supports X2 7750...

But a switch like that is pretty easy, just remove the cooler and switcht he CPU's (There's a lever you lift, pull the cap, and you can pop out the CPU.. then switch it, put hte Cap back on, push the lever down, put Thermal Paste and throw the cooler back on
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 03-17-2009, 09:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: Hoping to find my bottleneck

alright cool i will try to find something comparable. taht thing looks like a great buy.

my motherboard is currently this sucker

Motherboard (system board) Narra2 GL8E - This is a micro-ATX form factor, Asus M2N68-LA, Socket AM2 (Athlon 64, Athlon 64 X2 with Dual-Core and Sempron) CPU supported
broctune is offline  
Old 03-17-2009, 10:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: Hoping to find my bottleneck

Hmmm, sorry to spam this board like this but if i got this processor would i see a dramatic increase in performance?

Athlon 64 X2 Dc 5200+ AM2 2.7GHZ 1MB 65NM 65W 2000MHZ Pib
broctune is offline  
Old 03-18-2009, 06:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Hoping to find my bottleneck

there would be a good increse in gaming. for the graphics card get something along the lines of a GTS250 or a 4850, whichever you can get cheaper and also get a good PSU for it.
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PSN Helps Cops Find Stolen PS3 Osiris Sony Playstation 4 09-21-2008 10:17 AM
Find A Cell Phone Number Osiris Phones, Tablets, and other Handheld Devices 0 08-25-2008 10:19 AM
How do I find and remove the virus from my mom's computer? soarwitheagles Viruses, Spyware and Malware 2 06-22-2008 05:55 AM
Installing XP: Setup did not find any hard discs installed Aesrin Microsoft Windows and Software 4 05-26-2008 08:31 AM
new build cant find where power switch plugs into the Mobo? nastsystems System Upgrades 17 03-16-2008 06:33 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.