home theatre - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-14-2009, 11:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default home theatre

ok, planning on setting up a home theatre setup. i atleast want to be able to play my avi files on my computer onto the hdtv i have. my computer and the ht room are seperate. i heard about virtualization? or would it be better just to buy a cheap ht computer? and how would i set the computer up to the speakers?
__________________

__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 05-15-2009, 01:40 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: home theatre

Do you want to do anything else besides play .avi files? Will the .avi files be located on the HTPC, another computer, or centrally?

How are the speakers connected to the TV? Will they be connected to the computer? Through a receiver? How many channels? What type of audio output to do you need? What type of video output do you want to use?
__________________

__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 05-15-2009, 02:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: home theatre

Buy a WDTV. $120 USD or something like that.
zedman3d is offline  
Old 05-15-2009, 04:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: home theatre

If you just want to play AVI files, then all you really need is a computer with about a 1Ghz CPU, 512Mb Ram, Video Card (with possibly TV out depending on your TV) DVD-Rom and rather large hard drive.
My first media centre was put together from scrap parts that i found at work.

Speakers will need to connect to your computer. Or you can having them connected via your TV


MEDIA CENTRE --> TV --> Speakers
or
MEDIA CENTER --> TV
|-------------------> Speakers

It really comes down to what your set up is like.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 05-15-2009, 04:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: home theatre

Quote:
Originally Posted by taintedplay View Post
ok, planning on setting up a home theatre setup. i atleast want to be able to play my avi files on my computer onto the hdtv i have. my computer and the ht room are seperate. i heard about virtualization? or would it be better just to buy a cheap ht computer? and how would i set the computer up to the speakers?
You could just get a 780G board with 4GB RAM and a cheap dual core CPU for around $200 USD
That will be capable of playing 1080p blu-ray movies, using the onboard GPU.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-15-2009, 09:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: home theatre

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheOtis View Post
Do you want to do anything else besides play .avi files? nope, pretty much just avi files. Will the .avi files be located on the HTPC, another computer, or centrally? not sure yet, im kinda throwing an idea around for a NAS

How are the speakers connected to the TV? Will they be connected to the computer? To play off a computer dont the speakers need to be set to the computer? i dont know how i would attach a HT surround sound system to a computer. Through a receiver? i want a reciever somewhere in the mix How many channels? prob 5.1 What type of audio output to do you need? What type of video output do you want to use? not quite sure what you mean on these last to questions, if you mean video as in like 1080p, yes id like to be able to do 1080p, but i might grab a bluray player for the hidef stuff


my answeres in bold

also, thanks so much for the responses guys! im liking that 780g board idea
__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 05-15-2009, 10:47 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: home theatre

Newegg.com - LG Black 6X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 40X CD-ROM SATA Internal Combo LG Blu-ray/HD DVD-ROM & 16X DVDĪR DVD Burner Model GGC-H20L - Blu-Ray Drives
this can read blu-ray discs at 6X, and HD-DVD discs at 3X

If you use it with AnyDVD HD, you can run basically anything.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-15-2009, 04:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: home theatre

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
Newegg.com - LG Black 6X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 40X CD-ROM SATA Internal Combo LG Blu-ray/HD DVD-ROM & 16X DVDĪR DVD Burner Model GGC-H20L - Blu-Ray Drives
this can read blu-ray discs at 6X, and HD-DVD discs at 3X

If you use it with AnyDVD HD, you can run basically anything.
you think this is better than a standalone bluray player?


also, would it just be speakers -> reciever -> computer/tv (so i can watch tv with surround sound too)
__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 05-15-2009, 09:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: home theatre

Quote:
Originally Posted by taintedplay View Post
you think this is better than a standalone bluray player?
Yes, it reads blu-ray and HD-DVD discs, and if you use it with AnyDVD HD, you can use discs from any region.

Plus it is cheaper to just get a drive for your HTPC, if you're already getting an HTPC anyway.
Quote:
Originally Posted by taintedplay View Post
also, would it just be speakers -> reciever -> computer/tv (so i can watch tv with surround sound too)
If you used optical out (just about every motherboard should have that), you can use an external DAC.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-17-2009, 03:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: home theatre

kk also, about surround sound speakers. my budgets around 400, any suggestions?
__________________

__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buzzing noise when PC is hooked up to home theatre Justin5609 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-18-2009 12:58 PM
The many versions of XP EricB Microsoft Windows and Software 6 10-26-2008 02:54 PM
Home Theatre PC veedubfreak New Systems | Building and Buying 7 11-07-2007 11:43 PM
Try Microsoft Windows Home Server for 120 Days Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 11-04-2007 07:13 PM
Bonds slugs No. 756 to pass Aaron as home run king Osiris Off Topic Discussion 20 08-14-2007 03:56 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.