Home Theater Tie-in - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-14-2007, 12:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 8
Default Home Theater Tie-in

Hello. I am trying to make my system so that my sound will come out of my home theater system. I currenly have my video hooked up to my TV - Its odd having the sound still come from the computer and really takes the fun effect away. I would like to be able to take advantage of the 5.1 surround sound. I'm assuming I'm going to need to buy a new sound card, I just don't know what one.

Thanks a lot.
__________________

Big00wig is offline  
Old 11-14-2007, 01:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Home Theater Tie-in

Depending on the motherboard it should have audio output. I just ordered all the parts for my home theatre pc yesterday and im using my old p35-ds3r board which has digital/optical outputs that i can go straight to my reciever with. If your board doesnt have these outputs you will probably have to get a sound card that has it to get the full 5.1.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 11-14-2007, 01:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: Home Theater Tie-in

I'm using Asus "m2n-32 sli-delux" mobo and I have a cheap Creative 5.1 card (cost like $25 but sounds way better than intigrated) I guess my question now is how does it hook up? What kind of wire do I run to the reciever to take advantage of the 5.1?
Big00wig is offline  
Old 11-14-2007, 01:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Home Theater Tie-in

Your board does infact have 7.1 surround sound on the board and has both the digital (coax) and digital (optical) outputs on the board. Just buy yourself either a digital audio cable in whatever flavor your reciever accepts.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 11-14-2007, 03:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: Home Theater Tie-in

That would work, altough I have never had luck with the on board sound with this motherboard.. The drivers seem to have issues thats why I just bought a differant card. Can you suggest a good Sound Card I should get as an alternative to on board?
Big00wig is offline  
Old 11-14-2007, 04:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 12
Default Re: Home Theater Tie-in

your onboard sound wont work on that board mine doesnt either just buy a creative sound card that has digital coax or optical out on it. just go to creative.com and look at their models
__________________

tomjennings83 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Try Microsoft Windows Home Server for 120 Days Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 11-04-2007 07:13 PM
Home Theater / PC Speakers Difolo Computer Audio and Multimedia 1 09-20-2007 10:50 AM
Bonds slugs No. 756 to pass Aaron as home run king Osiris Off Topic Discussion 20 08-14-2007 03:56 PM
Gaming computer with home theater? Pepsiboy700 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-13-2007 09:02 PM
Home Theater Speaker can't hear voice akasixcon New Systems | Building and Buying 3 05-21-2007 04:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.