Hi! I need help and saw this forum - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-20-2014, 10:48 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,813
Default Re: Hi! I need help and saw this forum

Free floating would be a BAD idea lol how is it backwards??? Pics would help but every MB I've seen are all the same layout for how the carde go in, You might be looking at it funny but it's the normay layout for a ATX board.
__________________

__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 11:37 PM   #12 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default Re: Hi! I need help and saw this forum

The Dell is BTX, you'll need a new case to upgrade the board.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 07:38 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: US
Posts: 6
Default Re: Hi! I need help and saw this forum

On my board, all PCI slots are in the bottom right, and cards face out to the right. On this board, it would appear that they have to face out to the left.

Anyway, could I use any ATX case? Or am I looking for something in particular?
tstehler1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 07:48 AM   #14 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: Hi! I need help and saw this forum

Quote:
Originally Posted by tstehler1 View Post
On my board, all PCI slots are in the bottom right, and cards face out to the right. On this board, it would appear that they have to face out to the left.

Anyway, could I use any ATX case? Or am I looking for something in particular?
As long as the case can handle a full ATX mobo then you are good.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 07:53 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: US
Posts: 6
Default Re: Hi! I need help and saw this forum

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
As long as the case can handle a full ATX mobo then you are good.
Fantastic!

One final question before I get out of everyone's hair... Will changing motherboards mess with the OS at all? I would assume I'd have to run BIOS updates... But could I just unplug everything and swap case and board all in one go? Or is there more to it than that?
tstehler1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 08:08 AM   #16 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: Hi! I need help and saw this forum

Quote:
Originally Posted by tstehler1 View Post
Fantastic!

One final question before I get out of everyone's hair... Will changing motherboards mess with the OS at all? I would assume I'd have to run BIOS updates... But could I just unplug everything and swap case and board all in one go? Or is there more to it than that?
Unless you want to reinstall everything you need to prep the OS before you swap them out.

If you are running XP:
How to: Upgrade your motherboard without reinstalling Windows. - [H]ard|Forum

If you are running Win7:
Windows 7 Installation - Transfer to a New Computer - Windows 7 Help Forums
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SaW 3D (aka Saw 7) Harper Multimedia 9 10-22-2010 09:17 PM
I saw the Future and its AWESOME! (2019 a microsoft vision) grasswater Microsoft Windows and Software 17 03-09-2009 11:09 PM
online booking forum and enquire forum jay_bo Programming 4 07-25-2007 05:08 PM
Was going to build a new comp, then I saw this. Need some help! rjwilley System Upgrades 8 08-25-2006 04:58 AM
I saw this joke and had to post-- Shakie Off Topic Discussion 2 02-26-2003 07:46 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.