Hey all, need some help - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-02-2006, 07:38 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 54
Send a message via AIM to sarge52
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by thebleakness
BTW I have that same mobo or something very similar (looks like it and its a soyo) and i havent had problems with it.
ok then, chaulk it up to me having bad luck
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v284/Sarge52/dbzsurge111.gif\" alt=\"Image hosted by Photobucket.com\">
sarge52 is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 07:38 PM   #12 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

You can find round cables on NewEgg.

SATA cables are round, anyway, so you'll just need them for your opticals and floppy.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 07:40 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 54
Send a message via AIM to sarge52
Default

another thing, I can't wait to get a new mobo (still no idea what kind but alas I do now know that I should be looking in DFI, asus and msi area)! why? well before my computer decided to die on me, I remember it having 137GB showing even though I have 250GB. yes read the threads you all posted which makes sense now, but does me no good due to me not being able to past post
__________________
<img src=\"http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v284/Sarge52/dbzsurge111.gif\" alt=\"Image hosted by Photobucket.com\">
sarge52 is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 07:52 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sarge52
another thing, I can't wait to get a new mobo (still no idea what kind but alas I do now know that I should be looking in DFI, asus and msi area)! why? well before my computer decided to die on me, I remember it having 137GB showing even though I have 250GB. yes read the threads you all posted which makes sense now, but does me no good due to me not being able to past post
Unfortunetly your mobo situation is hard. DFI never did produce a good AGP Socket 939 board. MSI no longers produces AGP socket 939 boards.

Infact, nobody except ECS produces socket 939 AGP boards. I cannot find much of anything.

This is the only decent board I can find.
http://www.us.ncix.com/products/inde...cture=Gigabyte
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 07:54 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 54
Send a message via AIM to sarge52
Default

well thanks for trying, should I buy this?
__________________
<img src=\"http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v284/Sarge52/dbzsurge111.gif\" alt=\"Image hosted by Photobucket.com\">
sarge52 is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 07:59 PM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

I have the best MSI K8N NEO2-PLATINUM mobo with AGP I'll also include some rounded IDE cables lol

Anyways defintely get a new case and a new psu, how about 1 more GB of ram?
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 08:53 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 54
Send a message via AIM to sarge52
Default

MSI K8N NEO2-PLATINUM mobo with AGP, should I get this?
__________________
<img src=\"http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v284/Sarge52/dbzsurge111.gif\" alt=\"Image hosted by Photobucket.com\">
sarge52 is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 08:55 PM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sarge52
MSI K8N NEO2-PLATINUM mobo with AGP, should I get this?
The best AGP socket 939 motheroard built

If you can get a good price from pzerofgh go for it.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 09:04 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 42
Send a message via AIM to TheGr8schlotzky
Default

i agree definitely motherboard problem
__________________
ASUS P4S800D-X
1.5GB Corsair DDR400
ASUS N6600 256MB
3.4 (OC\'d) P4 w/HT [3.0E]
160GB WD
600W Aspire PSU
17in LCD
TheGr8schlotzky is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 09:04 PM   #20 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

ASRock 939Dual-SATA2 Socket 939 ULi M1695 ATX AMD Motherboard
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813157081

2 x ATA100 up to 4 Devices
2 x SATA 1
1 x SATA 2
RAID 0/1
1 x AGP 4X/8X
1 x PCI-E x16
1 x PCI-Ex1
3 x PCI
up to 4GB RAM

Manufacturer's site:
http://www.asrockamerica.com/Products/939DSATA2.htm
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.