Here's my RAM... Recommend me a good upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-12-2007, 08:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Drewser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Big Island-Hawaii
Posts: 115
Send a message via MSN to Drewser
Default Here's my RAM... Recommend me a good upgrade

Here's the specs on my RAM and mainboard from CPU-Z, it's the stock stuff that came with my Gateway FX530s, and I am looking to upgrade to some good stuff here soon. Anyone got some good suggestions, looking to spend about $100 +/- a little for 2GB's...






Other slot contains the same module...
__________________

__________________
*INTEL Quad-Core Q6600 GO (yet to OC...)
*EVGA 8800GT 650/950
*2GB RAM
*2X 150GB WD Raid 0
*22" Gateway HD LCD Display
*Delta 700W PSU
Drewser is offline  
Old 10-12-2007, 08:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Here's my RAM... Recommend me a good upgrade

Gimme the model number. You should get Crucial DDR800 or Gskills DDR800.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 10-12-2007, 08:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Here's my RAM... Recommend me a good upgrade

This should work:
Newegg.com - G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
or
Newegg.com - Patriot Extreme Performance 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-12-2007, 11:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default Re: Here's my RAM... Recommend me a good upgrade

Unless you're looking for memory to overclock, you'll probably be fine with what you have...
aetherh4cker is offline  
Old 10-13-2007, 01:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Drewser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Big Island-Hawaii
Posts: 115
Send a message via MSN to Drewser
Default Re: Here's my RAM... Recommend me a good upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by aetherh4cker View Post
Unless you're looking for memory to overclock, you'll probably be fine with what you have...
Really? Would it not be really worth it to upgrade if I wasn't planning on OC'ing any time soon?

I am still in the process of learning about timings and such with RAM and related components, and I just figured that whatever came stock with the PC wasn't that great.
__________________
*INTEL Quad-Core Q6600 GO (yet to OC...)
*EVGA 8800GT 650/950
*2GB RAM
*2X 150GB WD Raid 0
*22" Gateway HD LCD Display
*Delta 700W PSU
Drewser is offline  
Old 10-13-2007, 01:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Here's my RAM... Recommend me a good upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drewser View Post
Really? Would it not be really worth it to upgrade if I wasn't planning on OC'ing any time soon?

I am still in the process of learning about timings and such with RAM and related components, and I just figured that whatever came stock with the PC wasn't that great.
No. Whatever came stock is probably decent for general use. Also, I few faster times isn't worth the money. It's only worth it if your building.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Good deal on Ram luke87 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 22 10-03-2007 11:43 AM
RAM Problems? cfgcjm New Systems | Building and Buying 5 10-02-2007 12:53 PM
Ram Issue, Compaq 700 series SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 09-30-2007 11:10 PM
RAM Probelems...maybe? cfgcjm Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 09-20-2007 11:34 PM
Vista Upgrade? Saynt25 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-18-2007 04:48 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.