Helpp!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-10-2009, 07:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: So cal
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to upshutdown
Angry Helpp!!

Hey all...problem that is stumping me...so i just got a computer upgrade as follows

9800GTX+
core 2 duo processor 2.8 GH model number e7400
and 2 slots of 2 gig ddr2 ram

i already have a 550 watt power supply and MSI p965 platinum motherboard
i am almost 100 percent sure all this is sufficient

so my problem is, i start up my comp and the initial MSI loading screen comes up...It tells me all the usual:
Motherboard make, then processor installed, Press DEL to run Setup, Press F11 for BBS POPUP, The MCH is operating with DDR2 CL5/Trcd5/Trp5/Tras12, Initializing USB controllers .. Done.
4096 MB OK
then it just stays there...does not let me enter setup, does not continue...any ideas what could be wrong?
__________________

upshutdown is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 07:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: Helpp!!

Can you get into the BIOS? Have you tried pulling the battery to clear the CMOS?
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 07:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: So cal
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to upshutdown
Default

No i can not get into the Bios, and how do i pull the battery to clear CMOS?

it could be a noob fix...but i have no idea...help would be great guys

Ok so i pulled the cmos battery...nada...im starting to think its something with my hdd maybe? not detecting one? but i cant get into the bios...im pretty sure all is good with connecting HD, 2 cords in...power, and sata data cord
suggestions?
upshutdown is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 08:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: Helpp!!

Try disconnecting your hard drive and see how it boots. If there is no difference, start pulling other components (like RAM) and see if you get any messages from it. Basically you are checking to see if the mobo has any dead places.

You can try connecting your serial cable to a differenet serial port. If you rmotherboard has two banks of them, connect to a port in the other bank.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 08:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Helpp!!

Did you update your bios so it would support wolfdale cpu's?
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 08:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: So cal
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to upshutdown
Default Re: Helpp!!

no i did not...i was just about to say i think its the processor...so what do i do...do i need to put my old processor in to update the bios?
upshutdown is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 08:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Helpp!!

Yeah that's probably the easist way unless you can put the update on a flash drive or something and flash/update the bios that way, then you won't have to pull the new cpu.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 08:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: So cal
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to upshutdown
Default Re: Helpp!!

gonna have to pull the cpu, should be fine...can u direct me where to go for the update...thanks
upshutdown is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 08:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Helpp!!

The 1.8 bios at the top of the list added wolfdale support.

MSI -- MICRO-STAR INT'L CO., LTD.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 08:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: So cal
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to upshutdown
Default Re: Helpp!!

Ok onto a very nub like question...ive downloaded it...now what haha sorry
__________________

upshutdown is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which case should i get..??!!!!!! HELPP skiki New Systems | Building and Buying 2 01-26-2009 06:58 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.