Help with wrong processor detected. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-30-2005, 02:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Unhappy Help with wrong processor detected.

Ok i just finished building my new computer and i have a sempron 2800 sokcet A but then after i installed xp i clicked on system and it says amd athlon mp 1.2ghz and 480mb of ram. what is wron i have 512mb of ram and a 2.0ghz sempron what do i need to do to fix this pleez somebody help me?
__________________

BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 08-30-2005, 02:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default pleez does anybody know what to do?

bump
__________________

BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 08-30-2005, 04:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

how many problems do you have with this computer just throw it away
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 08-30-2005, 04:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 153
Default

He just built it lol. Looks like the motherboard is f'd up to me and it's using the onboard graphics.
Kilew is offline  
Old 08-30-2005, 05:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530
Default

No, your FSB is defaulted at 100mhz, swithc it back to 133 and that should fix it. Make sure I am right though. I have the same trouble, mine defaulted at 1.2 ghz even though I have an xp 2000+ (1.67). My FSB was at 100, default for 2000+ is suppose to be 133. I changed it back to 133, and it reads as a 1900 on boot up but it's close enough. (Bios has a hard time reading the little processer difference I suppose in socket A's)

As for the RAM your onboard graphics card is using some of it up, it's a shared memory thing. You can't do anything about that.
__________________
Quintox is offline  
Old 08-30-2005, 09:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Well check with CPU-Z for the correct clockspeed, windows can lie.

And you have 480 meg of ram, because your intergrated graphics is usi ng some
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-30-2005, 09:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Angry yeah

yeah i downloaded cpuz and it still sed athlon mp 1200mhz this is odd. any suggestins?
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 08-30-2005, 09:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Angry also

it only says 100 mhz frontside bus only and 200 mhz bus speed. so i dont know what to do
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 08-31-2005, 08:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Unhappy any ideas?

bump
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 09-01-2005, 04:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530
Default

Change it to 133. (FSB) If that doesn't work then go lower. When I mean if it doesn't work I mean if Windows won't boot.
__________________

__________________
Quintox is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.