Help. Worth Upgrading? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-08-2010, 10:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 21
Default Help. Worth Upgrading?

So I came across a Dell Vostro 220 computer and the only problem with it is a dead HD. I currently play WoW on my laptop which sucks for games, Core 2 Duo @ 2.2ghz, 4gigs ram, but integrated graphics. I have to play on lowest settings with low frame rates. The Vostro has a Core 2 Duo and 2gigs of ram so I was thinking of grabbing a decent graphics card and hard drive and playing WoW on it. I figured it would be much better than what I am currently using. Not looking for high settings or anything, just decent settings with stable framerates. I haven't had a chance to really play with the Dell all I know is it has a open PCIe port for the graphcs card. Not sure of processor speed. I also thought about 2x the ram from 2 to 4 gigs. Think that would make a difference in WoW? Thats what I will use the PC for 95% of the time. I want to spend roughly $75 on the card and $50 on the HDD. Can you guys give some suggestions? Thanks.
__________________

rjm6542 is offline  
Old 11-08-2010, 11:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Help. Worth Upgrading?

Yeah, it has a PCIe X1 and PCIe X16 (graphics).

How much money on the RAM? You have only two slots, so you have to buy new 2 x 2gb sticks.
Newegg.com - G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F2-6400CL5D-4GBNT (free shipping)

Graphics, I'm not keen on.

Can get this HDD
Newegg.com - Western Digital Caviar Blue WD3200AAKS 320GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive (free shipping)
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 11-08-2010, 12:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 21
Default Re: Help. Worth Upgrading?

I opened the case for a quick glance last night and it looked to have 4 slots, 2 used with the 1gb sticks. I don't want to spend more than $150 period on the system since it's already old. Chances are that budget will only allow for a gfx card and HDD. If the additional memory would really help that much I might consider it.
rjm6542 is offline  
Old 11-08-2010, 12:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Help. Worth Upgrading?

Ah, ok. The specs for the Vostro says it's two.
Vostro 220 Mini Tower | Dell

Unless you have a different version.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 11-08-2010, 12:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 21
Default Re: Help. Worth Upgrading?

Yea I looked at the specs there last night but I could have sworn it had 4, maybe it's one of the older Vostros? Regardless, with that setup having 2gigs ram and I'm assuming a lower end Core 2 Duo, what would be a good gfx card that wouldn't be bottlenecked? I saw some on NewEgg with great reviews in the $79.99 range. I'll post some links in a few and you guys can give input.
rjm6542 is offline  
Old 11-08-2010, 01:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Sniper_13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 231
Default Re: Help. Worth Upgrading?

Newegg.com - SAPPHIRE 100293DP Radeon HD 5570 1GB 128-bit DDR3 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Low Profile Ready Video Card w/ Eyefinity

you should be able to max out your game with this, if anything medium no problem with good frame rates.
__________________
`Core i7 950 || `Gigabyte X58A-UD3R Mobo
`Cooler Master V6 CPU Cooler || `G.Skill 1600Mhz 6gb DDr3
`Saphire Radeon HD 6870 1gb || `2x WD Caviar Black 640gb RAID 0
`Cooler Master HAF 922 || `Corsair 750HX PSU
Sniper_13 is offline  
Old 11-08-2010, 01:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default Re: Help. Worth Upgrading?

You have a 300W power supply. Almost any card will require upgrading it.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 11-08-2010, 02:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Sniper_13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 231
Default Re: Help. Worth Upgrading?

when i owned a dell XPS 8100 they sent it with a 320w PSU to power a 5770, 12gb , i7 and it run fine, but then i figured out that the underclocked the gpu
__________________
`Core i7 950 || `Gigabyte X58A-UD3R Mobo
`Cooler Master V6 CPU Cooler || `G.Skill 1600Mhz 6gb DDr3
`Saphire Radeon HD 6870 1gb || `2x WD Caviar Black 640gb RAID 0
`Cooler Master HAF 922 || `Corsair 750HX PSU
Sniper_13 is offline  
Old 11-08-2010, 04:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 21
Default Re: Help. Worth Upgrading?

That card for $79.99 would be great but if the power supply wont push it I'll go with something else. Like I said, this Dell is old and dumping more than $150 into it would seem foolish to me. Any other card that the 300w would push and I could get decent detail/framerates? Remeber, I am currently using integrated thats barely playable, I just want a simple upgrade that will make the game playable. Medium settings, low/no shadows, low/medium particle effects... Granted, I would spend $20 extra if I could find a combo deal that included either the HD or GFX card with a PSU. Thanks a lot guys.
rjm6542 is offline  
Old 11-08-2010, 05:11 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Sniper_13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 231
Default Re: Help. Worth Upgrading?

your 300w psu should be fine for a 5570 , just dont plan on adding anything else later on, it consumes very little power, take a look for your self.

ATI Radeon HD 5570 Review > Power Consumption & Temperatures - TechSpot

Ati does recommend a 400w PSU , but people do run it on 300w i mean if my older dell ran a 5770 on a 350w psu im pretty sure a 300w will do a 5570 fine.
__________________

__________________
`Core i7 950 || `Gigabyte X58A-UD3R Mobo
`Cooler Master V6 CPU Cooler || `G.Skill 1600Mhz 6gb DDr3
`Saphire Radeon HD 6870 1gb || `2x WD Caviar Black 640gb RAID 0
`Cooler Master HAF 922 || `Corsair 750HX PSU
Sniper_13 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Worth upgrading to the i7? csaefong New Systems | Building and Buying 6 12-05-2008 09:09 PM
Is this PC worth upgrading? edwiiiiin System Upgrades 5 06-03-2007 12:09 PM
Is it worth upgrading this PC? ki9090 New Systems | Building and Buying 9 12-01-2006 04:38 AM
Worth upgrading? cyrax System Upgrades 15 02-06-2006 01:05 AM
Is it worth upgrading? Danny_M Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 07-19-2004 02:48 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.