Help w/Upgradeis appreciated - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2006, 09:48 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 11
Send a message via Yahoo to jsny
Default

so question is:

new hd, new sound card, and add 512 is still better than the $349 microcenter deal? i'm sincerely a novice here. sorry to repeat myself!
__________________

jsny is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 10:13 PM   #12 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

now we just need to find out what kind of ram you have.... pc2100? or pc 133?? or am i just totally off! we need motherboard specs... whats the name of that program to check your specs?? someone aid me please!
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 03:19 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 11
Send a message via Yahoo to jsny
Default

does it start with a b?
jsny is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 03:22 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 11
Send a message via Yahoo to jsny
Default

belarc?
jsny is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 03:25 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 11
Send a message via Yahoo to jsny
Default

Operating System System Model
Windows XP Professional (build 2600) Compaq Deskpro EP/SB Series
System Serial Number: 6006CS82A133
Asset Tag: 6006CS82A133
Chassis Serial Number: 6006CS82A133
Processor a Main Circuit Board b
550 megahertz Intel Pentium III
32 kilobyte primary memory cache
512 kilobyte secondary memory cache Board: Compaq 041Ch
Serial Number: 6006CS82A133
Bus Clock: 100 megahertz
BIOS: Compaq 686T2 07/02/99
Drives Memory Modules c,d
13.50 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity
558 Megabytes Hard Drive Free Space

COMPAQ CD-ROM LTN323
IOMEGA ZIPCD 650 USB USB Device [CD-ROM drive]
3.5" format removeable media [Floppy drive]

Maxtor 91360U6 [Hard drive] (13.52 GB) -- drive 0, s/n W608AZVA, rev VA5105F0, SMART Status: Healthy 256 Megabytes Installed Memory

Slot 'DIMM #1:J1' has 64 MB
Slot 'DIMM #2:J2' has 64 MB
Slot 'DIMM #3:J3' has 128 MB
Local Drive Volumes

c: (FAT32 on drive 0) 13.50 GB 558 MB free

Network Drives
None detected
Users (mouse over user name for details) Printers
local user accounts last logon
JGREGGS 1/7/2006 2:17:45 AM (admin)
local system accounts
Administrator never (admin)
Guest 11/8/2003 6:15:01 PM
HelpAssistant never
IUSR_CX1151279-A 2/6/2005 6:51:28 PM
IWAM_CX1151279-A 2/1/2004 11:30:06 PM
SUPPORT_388945a0 never


Marks a disabled account; Marks a locked account HP LaserJet 6P/6MP PostScript on LPT1:

Controllers Display
Standard floppy disk controller
Intel(r) 82371AB/EB PCI Bus Master IDE Controller
Primary IDE Channel [Controller]
Secondary IDE Channel [Controller] S3 Graphics Inc. Savage4 [Display adapter]
Delta H996 [Monitor] (17.7"vis, January 2002)
Bus Adapters Multimedia
Intel(r) 82371AB/EB PCI to USB Universal Host Controller Creative Sound Blaster 16 Plug and Play (WDM)
Game Port for Creative
Communications Other Devices
Digicom Data Fax Modem


Intel(R) PRO/100+ Management Adapter
primary Auto IP Address: 192.168.1.100 / 24
Gateway: 192.168.1.1
Dhcp Server: 192.168.1.1
Physical Address: 000:B7:2E:1A:FA

Networking Dns Servers: 64.126.4.189
64.126.4.193
Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural PS/2 Keyboard
PS/2 Compatible Mouse
USB Mass Storage Device
USB Root Hub
jsny is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 03:26 AM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 11
Send a message via Yahoo to jsny
Default

hopefully i didn't just provide "too much" information?????
jsny is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 03:34 AM   #17 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

wow i just read about that mobo.. and i think its a socket 370.. and from what i've just read... it only supports up to a 850mhz processor? if thats the case.. if what i read is correct.. i don't think your computers gonna get much better... i guess just add more ram.. and that hard drive i mentioned i guess, that should do you some good

hrmm 3 ram slots... not too sure if they'll support the 512 mb sticks.. maybe you should go with 3 256 mb sticks.. if 512 works then fill all 3 of those slots with em! 1.5 gb! that would be just dandy!
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 03:42 AM   #18 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

i think you may have pc 100 or pc 133... i can't really tell... i read some other dell computer but i'm not sure it was the same mobo, i'm guessing its a pc133...
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 10:21 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 11
Send a message via Yahoo to jsny
Default

i'm not really sure?
jsny is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 11:34 PM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405
Default

bus speed 100Mhz tells me grab some pc133 RAM
__________________

__________________
The_Tobes99 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.