Help w/Upgradeis appreciated - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2006, 06:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 11
Send a message via Yahoo to jsny
Default Help w/Upgrade is appreciated

hi guys/gals:

i'm a grad student looking to upgrade my system. my price point is $300. i use my computer to surf the net, download music etc. and word processing etc. i have an xbox so no gaming here, although i enjoy listening to music w/my puter. my question is whether or not to grab some pre-packaged set up, or build it myself. i've read a little about motherboards etc. but am getting lost with all the diffnt set ups such as 926 sockets vs. 700's etc. i was also considering a used laptop too???javascript:smilie('')
confused

here's what i've got:
pen III 550 w/ 512 ram
monitor
keyboard
mouse
ext iomega cd-rw

what i figure i'll need
motherboard w/ some sort of processor
memory
new hard drive
sound card
video card
"possibly" a "new" power supply

that's all i can think of, any and all comments are apreciated ;-) thanks in advance!

j
__________________

jsny is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 06:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

hrm whats wrong with your computer now?? and for 300 your not gonna get alot with all that you wanted there....

and if you buy a new motherboard.. your gonna need to probably install windows agian.. hopefully you got windows, and not just a boot disc... i think you should just get more ram for your computer now if all your gonna do is type and listen to music... and a better processor.. nothing too flashy.. wats the clock speed of your processor now?

well lets see

Sockets A, 754, 939, and 940 those are for your amd processors

Sockets 478,775,and 604 are intel

and if you don't wanna play games.. why do you want a new video card???

and it doesnt seem you wanna put too much in here, so i don't know if you'll really need a new psu
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 06:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 11
Send a message via Yahoo to jsny
Default

i do have win xp. and i gues i really don't need a new video card. i know i need a new sound card. ultimately, i guess i'm buying into the whole, "my stuff is outdated and slow. newer stuff would be better and much faster." i'm running a 12 gig hard drive, so i felt i'd just upgrade a few things. i'm also afraid of transferring a virus/worm from my current hard drive to a new one, not to mention i don't know how to ghost a drive over etc. starting new is always the ignorant novices choice i guess and with the cost of computers declining, i thought it made sense? maybe not though?
jsny is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 06:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default

You won't be able to get much for $300. It'd be tough to build your own, and I don't know what premades are around for $300.
__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 06:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 11
Send a message via Yahoo to jsny
Default

i meant to post 300-400. microcenter has one listed for $349.

here is their deal:
5500; AMD® Sempron(tm) Processor 3100+; Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition (SP2); 256MB DDR-400 RAM; 80GB 7,200RPM Hard Drive; 52x32x52 CD-RW Drive; ATI RADEON XPRESS 200 Video Chipset; 10/100 Network Adapter; Monitor Not Included

i have memory currently in my computer, but i wouldn't know if it'd be compatible or not?
jsny is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 06:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

yes, that computer would do you better, and i doubt your computer uses pc 3200 184 pin ram... just go for that computer and buy another 512 mb ram .... thats only like 50 bucks now, and that computer should do you just dandy
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 07:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

well here's some parts you could try out i'll keep it around ur range

hard drive seagate 2mb cache 40 gb 49.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148096

mobo 52.50 Asus K8U-X
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131572

cpu sempron 2800+ 75.70
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819104245

video card some evga (64mb) 34.00
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130198

ram 1gb corsair value82.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820141307

all thats 295.18 dollars... before shipping of course
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 07:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 11
Send a message via Yahoo to jsny
Default

thx nosboost. i appreciate the help. it sounds like a good deal! i'll continue to check into this stuff.
jsny is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 08:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 375
Default

i would just stick with what you have for now and upgrade computers later. build your own. if you want best performance for the least amount of price that is .
SteveGTA is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 08:44 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

I say keep that computer, buy an X-FI and some decent speakers, and bump up the ram to 1GB so one more additional stick of 512MB
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.