Help w/ Graphics Card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-23-2006, 07:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2
Default Help w/ Graphics Card

I'm trying to install this ATI Radeon 9200 (PCI) on my comp. I am following the manual and it says to first remove the current dis[lay drivers. The one it currently has, Intel(R) 573EP V9x DF PCI Modem can't be removed. I keep clicking the Change/Remove button and the hour glass shows up for a second and the Add or Remove Programs box just blinks. Also, when I remove the Intel(R) 2 Driver and the Intel(R) PRO Network Adapters and Drivers and restart the computer, the little wizard says that they are new software and the are automatically installed again.. What do I do? Any help is appreciated. Thanks in advance.
__________________

ren3gade is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 07:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wetaskiwin Alberta
Posts: 498
Send a message via MSN to nVdia Send a message via Yahoo to nVdia
Default

Well do you have any nvidia drivers installed?
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 duo E6750
Gigabyte S series N650 SLI
Evga 8800GT Superclocked 512MB
4 Patriot Extreme DDR2800
Seagate Barracuda 320gig SATA 2
Seagate Barracuda 200gig SATA 2
Antec 900 Gaming Case
Enermax Liberty 620watt Modular
Acer 22inch Widescreen HDTV/DVI
Windows Vista Ultimate 32 Bit
nVdia is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 08:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2
Default

No, it is all Intel. Ok it installed and everythig. After it restarted, after the loading screen that says Windows XP, the screen went black and the green light on the moniter turned yellow. I pressed the buttons of the moniter and it said it was in Power Save mode and it also said to press and kew on the keyboard or to move the mouse. I did this but the screen stayed the same. Whatever I type though is typed but the screen it black. I moved the monitor connection back to the computer to see the screen right now. Any idea how to solve this?
ren3gade is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 08:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

Did I miss something?? why are you trying to remove the drivers for your 56k v92 modem to install a video card???? They mean remove any previos video card drivers. not what was in the slot. and if its onboard graphics you had then just disable them in the bios. Then install the drivers for your card.
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 08:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

And now you removed your chipset and agp drivers and the system won't boot. Go into safe mode and install your motherboard chipset drivers and then install the ati drivers again.

Edit - Or just go into safe mode and use system restore and go back to before you messed it up. DON'T REMOVE ANYTHING its onboard graphics!! go into the bios and turn the onboard video off, NOTHING ELSE. lol
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 08:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
ATIRAGEPRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,400
Send a message via AIM to ATIRAGEPRO Send a message via Yahoo to ATIRAGEPRO
Cool "Mortal Combat: RAYDEN 9200..."

It is perfectly safe to install a new video PCI card in your comp with the old drivers still in there, as long as they arent Nvidia drivers.

I've done this plenty of times before. All it does is activate some kind of Split screen feature where your mouse can scroll to another monitor. From there you can remove the drivers while still being plugged in to your old monitor, and after you restart, you can plug the monitor into your new card

::PS:: You are supposed to DISABLE the intel drivers, not just uninstall them.
__________________

__________________


Quote:
Originally posted by bonehelm
WTF ROFLMAO !!!! WTF OMFG LOL !!!! PARDON THE ****KING CAPS IM SO ROFL NOW !!!

I just found out I\'ve been using direct X 8.1 since its out.
He who knows when enough is enough will always have enough... - Lao Tzu
ATIRAGEPRO is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.