Help With Video Card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-12-2006, 08:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 74
Default Help With Video Card

My friend is looking for a new video card to play some of the more modern games but he can only spend around $40. What is the best PCI card that money can buy for 40 bucks?
__________________

iambrian is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 10:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Whoa, you can't play modern games with a $40 card. I would save up if I were him. But if he wants to, thats his money. Heres the best I could find:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102360
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 11:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 74
Default

Yea, no kidding, that is exactly what i told him. I said no less than 75, but he said 40. Thanks anyway.
iambrian is offline  
Old 10-14-2006, 05:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 376
Send a message via AIM to Saint71
Default

At least he will get mad frames in solitaire and minesweeper.
Saint71 is offline  
Old 10-14-2006, 06:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 336
Default

seriously.

you can NOT play any new games with a $40 card.

you need at least 100 i would say, get maybe a 6600GT or something, something mid-tier ya know?

a ATI Radeon 9200 will not do jack ****, i had an ATI Radeon 9800 PRO, 64 mb ram, and i had to run WoW on the LOWEST settings across the board to even be able to play. i upgraded to a 7600GS 512mb ($171 including overnight shipping and rush processing, thank you newegg) and now i can run on all highest, but downgrading would have made it worse

tell your friend to save his **** money and get a card that will actually help instead of wasting his $40

-Phate
__________________


And above all else this, to thine own self be true.
-Shakespeare
Phate is offline  
Old 10-14-2006, 08:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default

http://www.ewiz.com/detail.php?name=C3D-160PR2

I am sorry but i was just wondering how good this card is?

I want to sell my xfx geforce 6800 xtreme to a friend and use that connect3d card till christmas.

I got the connect3d card for brand new for free so i just wondered how good it would be?

I was wondering if i needed a crossfire board instead of nvidia based boards.
Norcent is offline  
Old 10-14-2006, 09:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 66
Default

If your friend thinks that $40 will play modern games i got a few bridges that I'd be glad to sell him.
__________________
I need a new computer
ElBurro is offline  
Old 10-15-2006, 08:50 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Norcent
http://www.ewiz.com/detail.php?name=C3D-160PR2

I am sorry but i was just wondering how good this card is?
its probably similar to 6600GT performance. (may vary depending on the game)
see here:
http://www23.tomshardware.com/graphi...=540&chart=196

and no you dont need a crossfire board to use one... if a card is crossfire enabled... that just means its able to be hooked up to another card, just like (Nvidia's SLI) except its (ATI crossfire)... to use 2 ATI cards together in crossfire requires a Crossfire compatable motherboard with 2 PCI-E slots. If you dont use 2 of them together, then you dont need a crosffire motherboard.
jolancer is offline  
Old 10-15-2006, 10:07 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default

is there a way to unlock that ati card to overclock it?
Norcent is offline  
Old 10-15-2006, 12:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

i never used ATI cards... but ATI Tool is pritty popular i hear..

last stable
http://www.techpowerup.com/atitool/

and latest beta
http://www.majorgeeks.com/download.php?det=4109
__________________

jolancer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.