Help upgrading video for old system - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-15-2005, 01:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 10
Default Help upgrading video for old system

I recently bought a Compaq Deskpro Workstation P4 1.5ghz to replace my K62 500mhz system. I bought it because I like to play games and my other computer was so old that it sucks even for old games now.

But before I can play most games I need to upgrade my video card because all i have now is a Matrox Millenium G450 card. The problem is that I can't seem to find out which version of AGP this system has, and I read that there are at least 3 versions of AGP. All I have found out so far is that the AGP is 4X, but not which version.

I went to the Compaq website and could find no information about the motherboard at all, and nothing about the AGP except that it is 4x.

Also, if my AGP is limited to 4X does that mean I would be wasting my money on a 8X video card? I wasn't planning on spending alot of money on a card in the first place, but I certainly don't want to waste money on a better card if it is limited by the motherboard.

Hopefully somebody has some suggestions!

__________________

SpaceInvader75 is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 09:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 47
Default

I'm pretty sure if you've got a 4x, you need a 4x video card. You can, however use a 4x/8x video card, because it still has that 4x.
__________________

__________________
My reply to all you show-offs out there:

AMD Duron@800mhz
FUJITSU 4gig
Maxtor 20gig
NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 4000 PCI@275
256mb PC133 SDRAM@100 3-3-3-6 /x2
Shuttle AK12A@100
Hansol 17\" CRT 710D Monitor
VIA AC\'97 Audio Controller
Windows XP Professional
HITACHI DVD-ROM GD-7500
LG CD-RW CED-8120B

:D
Chernabog is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 05:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Waste of money to buy a videocard for that system IMO. 1.5ghz with a 400mhz fsb is not powerful at all.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 06:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 10
Default

Well, I found a GeForce FX5500 for $40, so I just went ahead and bought it. It's 4X/8X AGP so I hope it works. 1.5ghz isn't powerful but it can still play older games and I think it will be decent for World of Warcraft once I put some more memory in it.

The only thing I don't like about this computer is the RDRAM, because it's so expensive, and I won't be able to use any RDRAM when I upgrade the motherboard/cpu. So I guess I will only put another 256 MB in it.
SpaceInvader75 is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 08:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 47
Default

Good video card, nice deal too. It'll work. That'll be one laggy game of WoW.....but then, even my 800mhz can handle WoW on a good day, that is, if I were to get another 500 megs of RAM.
__________________
My reply to all you show-offs out there:

AMD Duron@800mhz
FUJITSU 4gig
Maxtor 20gig
NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 4000 PCI@275
256mb PC133 SDRAM@100 3-3-3-6 /x2
Shuttle AK12A@100
Hansol 17\" CRT 710D Monitor
VIA AC\'97 Audio Controller
Windows XP Professional
HITACHI DVD-ROM GD-7500
LG CD-RW CED-8120B

:D
Chernabog is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 08:56 AM   #6 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

RDRAM blows. But hey, its your money.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 11:56 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 10
Default

Why does it blow? It's supposed to be fast RAM
SpaceInvader75 is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 01:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Why do you think Intel discontinued it and went with DDR that AMD started using first?
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 03:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

first of all the computer was a wastre of money since you wanna play games you shoulda just spent a little more money on a better system that will last you longer but anyway its your money and rdram is really expensive. and the video card you just baought is a pice of crap also you shoulda spent at lease 150$ for nvidia 6series. then again its your money.just get some moore ram and return that card if u still can and spend the extra money.
__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 03:26 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 183
Default

I thought RDRAM was high performance ram with high clock speeds?

I think it didn't become popular because back then nobody could afford it.
__________________

__________________
ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+
Zalman CNPS7000B-Cu
OCZ 1GB Platinum PC3200 Rev2 Dual Channel
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
Enermax Noisetaker 485W
2 x 80GB SATA Maxtor Diamondmax 10 on RAID 0
shenlingstyle is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.