help upgrading my old comp - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2005, 03:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Default help upgrading my old comp

Hello,

I have an old gateway computer, actually, I have parts from three of them. basically, I want to get a new mother board, processor and some more RAM. Since I have a case, all the cords and hookups, a 160gig HD, and a CD burner. I might also get a DVD burner later on, but I'm not sure. It doesn't have to be anything special, just a nice second computer that I can use for simple things like going on line and using small programs.

So here are the parts that I had picked out. Please tell me if you like these parts and if they are all compatible. I'm pretty sure they are, but I jsut want to make sure. Also, if you have any recamendations for different processor/mother board please tell, I just picked these out for the price.

Mother Board

Processor

RAM

Thanks for the help, I really appreciate it.
__________________

Kcrash5 is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 03:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

First of all, that board sucks. I had a board just like it and it caught fire. Under no circumstances should you buy a PCCHIPS board.

Now, why Socket A? It's REALLY, REALLY out of date. If you're on a budget, go Socket 754; if not, get Socket 939.

(You might need a new PSU, since, if I'm not mistaken, Gateway uses proprietary PSUs. You also need to check to see if your case will support a standard mATX or ATX board.)
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 03:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 119
Send a message via AIM to M@$t3r_N30
Default

The mobo, CPU and ram will work together. I don;t quite understand what you want to do.

Are you looking to put the mobo into the old gateway? Or are you building a new PC. I doubt the motherboard will fit into the old case.

EDIT: Sorry macdude, I was typing as you posted. :bald:
__________________
<a href="http://techbycolin.com">Tech by Colin</a>
<a href="http://linux.techbycolin.com">Home Webserver</a>
M@$t3r_N30 is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 05:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Default

kinda building a new one, but using the old case. Right now it has a Pentium 3, 500 mgz, and thats too slow.
Kcrash5 is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 01:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Here's a cheap setup.

BIOSTAR GEFORCE 6100-M7 Socket 754 NVIDIA GeForce 6100 Micro ATX AMD Motherboard
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813138266
$59.99+$4.99 Three Day Shipping

AMD Sempron 64 2800+ Palermo 800MHz FSB 256KB L2 Cache Socket 754 Processor
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819104245
$75.50+Free Three Day Shipping

G.SKILL 512MB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM Unbuffered DDR 400 (PC 3200) System Memory
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231029
$34.75+$3.83 Three Day Shipping

The motherboard has PCI-E, but also has onboard nVIDIA GeForce 6100 graphics if you can't swing a graphics card right now. You won't be doing any gaming without a card, but you can surf and compute with that mobo until you do.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.