HELP with upgrading my old comp - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-03-2006, 03:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 15
Default HELP with upgrading my old comp

I have a old gateway and i want to know how i can use the net to figure out my processor speed to see if i wanna buy a new one wit the same socket size n stuff
__________________

pinlos is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 03:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

go to google, type in cpu-z, download it, and tell us what it is, and we'll tell u what u need.
__________________

john3 is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 05:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 15
Default

Number of CPUs 1
APIC ID 0
Name Intel Pentium 4
Code name Willamette
Specification Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 1400MHz
Family/Model/Stepping F0A
Extended Family/Model F/0
Brand ID 8
Package PGA-423 (0h)
Core Stepping C1
Technology 0.18um
Instructions Sets MMX, SSE, SSE2
Features
Clock Speed 1396.6 MHz
Clock multiplier x14.0
Front Side Bus Frequency 99.8 MHz
Bus Speed 399.0 MHz
Stock frequency 1400 MHz
L1 Data Cache 8 KBytes, 4-way set associative, 64 Bytes line size
L1 Trace Cache 12 Kuops, 8-way set associative
L2 Cache 256 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64 Bytes line size
L2 Speed 1396.6 MHz (Full)
L2 Location On Chip
L2 Data Prefetch Logic yes
L2 Bus Width 256 bits
pinlos is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 06:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Oh, dear. You have a Socket 423 board, which means you're pretty much restricted to the Williamette family of P4s, and you therefore cannot go higher than 2.0 Ghz.

Good luck finding one; I sure couldn't.

How does a partial rebuild sound to you?
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 06:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

What is your budget, and are you familiar with eBay?

you could try to eBay a new CPU, or save up for a new(er) mobo & CPU combo. This of course may not be possible depending on wether or not:
1. The Gateway case accepts ATX form factor motherboards (if not, you might have to drill holes & mount it yourself).
2. The Gateway PSU has a standard ATX power connector on it.
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 07:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 15
Default

well rite now im workin on a 400 dollar budget. a partial rebuild sounds good and i was jus wondering some suggestions with that bugdet
pinlos is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 07:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

VERY interesting.....

You can upgrade to a Socket 478 Northwood core P4 ~ 2.8Ghz.... with an ADAPTOR of course (about $260). With that Socket 423 motherboard you are probably using RAMBUS memory, and if you upgraded to a Socket 478 motherboard, you would need new RAM too.. more money...

Can you provide more system specs for us? (RAM, video card, hard drive, etc. etc.)

[url=http://www.tomshardware.com/2004/08/30/performance_injection/index.html]HERE]/url] is a review that Toms Hardware did on that Socket 423 Adaptor.
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 07:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

if thats US$400, i would go with everything new.. i'll show you what i mean...
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 08:22 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

ok.. this is what i got..

you can use the same hard drive and optical drives.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130050
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103633
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820141185
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104954
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102651

thats total: $387 +shipping -$10 mail in rebate
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 08:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 15
Default

Is this good. Thanks for all suggestions. You all are real good help.


Chipset
------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Northbridge Intel i850 rev. A2
Southbridge Intel 82801BA (ICH2) rev. 04
Graphic Interface AGP
AGP Revision 2.0
AGP Transfer Rate 4x
AGP SBA not supported, not enabled
Memory Type RDRAM
Memory Size 128 MBytes
Memory Frequency 399.0 MHz (1:1)
Total CAS# (tRDRAM) 9
Row To Column (tRCD) 9
DIMM #1

General
Memory type RDRAM
Manufacturer (ID) Samsung (CE00000000000000)
Max bandwidth PC800-45 (400 MHz)
Part number MR16R 0824AN1-CK8
Serial number 2522BC02
Manufacturing date Week 05/Year 01

Attributes
Data width 16 bits
EPP no


DIMM #2

General
Memory type RDRAM
Manufacturer (ID) Samsung (CE00000000000000)
Max bandwidth PC800-45 (400 MHz)
Part number MR16R 0824AN1-CK8
Serial number 2574FC01
Manufacturing date Week 04/Year 01

Attributes
Data width 16 bits
EPP no
__________________

pinlos is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.