Help upgrading my cousin's dell so he can play F.E.A.R. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-03-2006, 02:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default Help upgrading my cousin's dell so he can play F.E.A.R.

LoL. My cousin has been seeing me build my comp and upgradin it this christmas and now he wants me to help him upgrade his dell.
These are his specs.

-Intel P4 2.4ghz socket 478
-256mb pc2700 ram (2x128)
-Geforce 4 mx 440 agp 8x


He says he wants to be able to play the new pc games like bf2 andhalf life 2, but F.E.A.R. is the game he really wants to play. If he cant play fear than he doesn't want to upgade. He has around $300 to upgrade.
He wants a new videocard and ram, but he doesn't want to change the processor.

This is the stuff i was thinking about buying for his dell.

Ram-http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820146996
Vidcard-http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814150089


that comes out to around $230 so there is still some money left. Basically if you had 300 dollars to upgrade this comp and make it good enough to handle F.E.A.R. than what would you buy? I relly need some help on this one, i want it to be the best bang for the buck.
__________________

__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 03:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

don't go xfx... bad ratings
__________________

NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 03:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 506
Default

Well, you, or your cousin, need to ask youself, do you really want to spend money so that you can just barely play todays's games, or would you want to save up more for a better build that can be better suited towards the future?

That being said, you should be able to play all those games at decent settings with the upgrades he wants.

While I have not played FEAR, I do play BF2 @ 1024x768 with med/high settings and 4xaa, and Half Life 2 @ 1280x1024 with settings on high. I have a p4 640 @ 3.2GHz, 2Gb pc3200 and an MSI 6600GT.
cedjunior is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 03:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

well he isn't a super gamer he just wants to upgrade his comp mainly and play F.E.A.R. He doesn't really want a good gaming comp for the future he just wants to know what parts he should buy with the $300.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 04:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 833
Send a message via ICQ to Amd2800 Send a message via AIM to Amd2800 Send a message via Yahoo to Amd2800
Default

gets a XFX geforce 6200 256mb best card ive got one n had no problems
__________________
NEW PC : The I5-2500 3.3ghz
CPU : Intel I5-2500 @ 3.3Ghz *SandyBridge* - Ram : 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Asus P8H67-M Pro
HDD0 : 1TB Sata 2 - GFX : ATI Radeon HD6950 2GB - Sound: Realtek 5.1 Onboard - OS1 : Windows 7 Ultimate X64

Dell Studio 1747 Laptop
CPU : Intel I7 - Q720 @ 1.66Ghz - Ram: 4GB Ram DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Dell - HDD: 2x 500GB Sata 2 - OS1: Windows 7 Ultimate X64





Quote:
I want a processor in my brain..... Can i upgrade my ram?

Amd2800 is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 07:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
!!GAMER!!
 
fr34ky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Default

Wait he doesnt want a super computer C'mon have you researched F.E.A.R. it kinda requires aleast a good computer.I can almost play that game at full,but look at mine than youll see the diff.
give up on playing F.E.A.R. he'll need to build a new comp.You'll need about 2 gigs of ram.at least a 6800Gs.

His cpu wouldnt run anyware close since he olny has a 533mhz bus speed and he cant overclock it since its a dell.That is the most demanding game out to date.He could play bf2 and WoW and some other games.
__________________
fr34ky is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 02:24 AM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default

His PSU wouldn't be able to handle a big graphics card, anyway.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 03:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aaronkupen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,848
Send a message via AIM to aaronkupen Send a message via Yahoo to aaronkupen
Default

Not true, I have a 6600GT and I play fear eloquently. You guys need to start realizing that some people dont feel it necessary to play at 1280 resolution (I play F.E.A.R. at 1024 with most things on max). I also have a 2.26, but it is overclocked to 2.6. I recommend at least getting a 6600 for the game, but I am not sure how a lower card than that would work.
__________________
Desktop - Antec Sonata III
Intel Core i3 540
4 GB DDR3-1600 memory
ATI Radeon HD 5670
Windows Vista Business x64
aaronkupen is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 04:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 132
Default

Ofcourse its possible to play F.E.A.R with his processor... you need to remember that he isnt a super gamer and probably wont want top graphics settings.
__________________
  • AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego
  • MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum nForce3 Ultra
  • TwinMos 1GB PC3200 Dual Channel
  • HIS Excalibur ATI Radeon X800 XL ICEQII 256MB
  • Dell 19\" UltraSharp TFT
  • Razer Diaomondback
  • Pioneer DVD-RW
  • Asus TA-210 Case
http://www.ko-clan.net/Fury_Sig.jpg
fury36 is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 08:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
!!GAMER!!
 
fr34ky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Default

do you have a presscott or northwood P4 CPU. The dells only came with northwood p4 CPU's.big diff but anyways he still would have to pay more than $300.
__________________

__________________
fr34ky is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.