help.. upgrading my computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-01-2007, 04:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 7
Default help.. upgrading my computer

hey all, i'm new to this, i have a computer, about 8 months old and i cant play age of empires III on it, i bought a video card and went to put it in but i dont have pci express,so i sent it back. my mission is to build a computer that can handle age of empires and the like, and i also make my own dvd's but my computer struggles a bit, very very slow!! how much of my current computer can i use for the new one?? what parts to do buy and where from??

What i have..
400watts ATX case with front USB
AMD Athlon 2.4Ghz Processor
512Mb 400Mhz DDR Ram
80Gb 7200Rpm SATA Hard drive
Samsung CD Burner
Samsung DVD Burner
Floppy Disk Drive

Any help would be awesome, because i'm hanging out to play age!!
__________________

mrgrumpysleeps is offline  
Old 01-01-2007, 06:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default

Get an AMD Athlon 4200 Dual core. ATI Radeon 1950PRO.Gigabyte P-CIE X16 AM2 Socket.1GB DDR2 PC 5300
160GB 7200RPM 8MB Cache HD fron Western Digital.

That Will play Age Of Empires 3 Well. Have a look for it all on Newegg if your a yank and Scan if ur a brit. Go Brits !


Thanks. I hope you have about 350 pounds because thats what it costs.
__________________

__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 01-01-2007, 06:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default

Keep the rest of your PC.
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 01-01-2007, 09:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 7
Default

ok thanks!! I'm an Aussie!!
mrgrumpysleeps is offline  
Old 01-01-2007, 09:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 7
Default

this?? http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI....MEWA:IT&ih=006
mrgrumpysleeps is offline  
Old 01-01-2007, 09:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 7
Default

and this? http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI....MEWA:IT&ih=014
mrgrumpysleeps is offline  
Old 01-01-2007, 09:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 7
Default

and this? http://cgi.ebay.com.au/New-ATI-Radeo...QQcmdZViewItem
mrgrumpysleeps is offline  
Old 01-01-2007, 09:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 7
Default

all this just to amuse my brain, haha!!
mrgrumpysleeps is offline  
Old 01-01-2007, 09:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to coolteen8887 Send a message via Yahoo to coolteen8887
Default

check for viruses and spyware. make sure to run defrag.
coolteen8887 is offline  
Old 01-01-2007, 10:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 7
Default

ok thanks
__________________

mrgrumpysleeps is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.