help with upgrading Dell Dimension 4600 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-26-2006, 10:07 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default

better video will make a world of difference, if you get the right one, suh as an agp 6600gt or a 6800gs (highly recommend) and another stick of 512 t have a total of 1 gig, make sure you get the right ram though, i think dells usually use like pc 2700on normal dells, if i knew the exact models and stuff it would be easier. lag has to dowith itenet conntion also, but a new vieo card wil help alot. and ram will increase performance alittle too. some lag is due to graphic lag which is whe yorvideo card chokes and thegame playswhile yosit heir until the card catches up pretyy much, so a new card will most likely help with some lag

if theirs any real bad typos im not aware of please dont tell me my eboard batteries are dying (never get a wireless keyboard)

6800gs
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814143045

6600gt
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130001
__________________

__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 10:16 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 336
Default

ok, thanks arch angel.

well, i read up about the dell PSU situation, about the extra 6pin connecter, i checked out my MOBO, looks like there is NOT a xtra 6pin.

so it seems i can get a regular PSU, so will

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16817104952

work?
__________________

__________________


And above all else this, to thine own self be true.
-Shakespeare
Phate is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 10:18 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 336
Default

oh, almost forgot.

my ram is not 1 512 stick, it is 2 256 sticks.

so i dont know if its dual channel or w/e

there are 4 slots for 184pin DDR SDRAM, 2 of them taken.

its like this - Ram Empty Ram Empty

thats the order, from left to right.

so i wanna do a 2stick purchase for ram, so i dont have any problems with it.

also, with the 6600GT video card, will my fan be enough?

these dells have some weird air guide going directly to the processor from the one intake fan... through the heatsink and out..

seems a little stupid to me..
__________________

__________________


And above all else this, to thine own self be true.
-Shakespeare
Phate is offline  
Closed Thread

« Gf | help please!!! »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.