help with upgrading Dell Dimension 4600 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-26-2006, 09:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 336
Default help with upgrading Dell Dimension 4600

im sort of a newb with upgrading PCs, but i have been reading/some posting on these forums for a while... so i have a question.

i need to INSTEAD of building a new computer, upgrade my off-the-shelf Dell Dimension 4600.

here are the things im thinking about buying for it:

2 GB (2x1gb) Patriot Sig. RAM - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820220079

EVGA GeForce FX5500 265 MB Video Card - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130197

Fan - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811999113

Speaker System - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16836121118

Keyboard - http://www.thinkgeek.com/computing/input/7a71/

Mouse - http://www.thinkgeek.com/computing/input/73d3/

i picked that video card cuz my crappy mobo is AGP 4x/8x

also, whats better, Patriot Signature RAM or Corsair ValueSelect?


will all this work with my Dell Dimension 4600?


thanks in advance,
Phate
__________________

Phate is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 09:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default

well depends what you do with your dell, are you upgrading for games?
if so i would lessen the ram and get a 6600GT agp card instead of the 5500
__________________

__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 09:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

Nah, AGP really isn't that bad for a Dell. The only thing that usually stumps the Dell's is that the cases are poor in air movement and typically aren't cool, but I see you adding a fan which should help. I'd really suggest only one gig of memory, two really won't do much for that system. Also, for your video card, I'd suggest the 6600GT or 6800GS. You have the 7800GS as an option too, but I think your systems too weak for it and would therefore bottleneck. Speakers, keyboard and mouse will work reguardeless of important internal hardware, so they don't matter.

But I'd really help if we had more information on your system, so go here and figure out which other hardware your computer contains. You'll most likely need to upgrade your PSU as well.
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 09:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 336
Default

why would i need to upgrade PSU?

i mean i know in the box psu's tend to suck, but its worked fine so far, so why replace it?

also, im playing World of Warcraft with this, it IS for gaming. my video card seems to do fine, i have the resolution pretty low, but im pretty used to it... refresh rate is fine, but one question.

does youre video card affect lag in-game?

i always thought it was mostly ram, and having 512 of it, the minimum for the game, i assumed that was the problem.

my friend experienced the same thing, upgraded to 1.5gb of ram, and said it was perfect, so i decided to get a pack and go 2gigs... also, my budget for this is around $350 to $400, like 415 being the max w/o shipping.
__________________


And above all else this, to thine own self be true.
-Shakespeare
Phate is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 09:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Phate
why would i need to upgrade PSU?

i mean i know in the box psu's tend to suck, but its worked fine so far, so why replace it?
The PSUs shipped with proprietary computers are NOT designed to handle power-hungry video cards and tons of RAM. It is very likely that, if you get the upgrades we suggested, your PSU will blow, and it may well take some important components down with it.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 09:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 336
Default

ok, so what do you think, this for the PSU?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104952
__________________


And above all else this, to thine own self be true.
-Shakespeare
Phate is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 09:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Installing that in your Dell would very likely be worse than not upgrading at all. Dell uses special PSUs that have the pins on the PSU's plug arranged differently, which means that if you hook up an off-the-shelf PSU (like that one) to your motherboard, you can kiss your mobo (and processor, most likely) goodbye.

You'll have to find a place online that sells special Dell-compatible PSUs (there are a few out there...)
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 09:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 336
Default

then what would you recommend?

any links (newegg if possible)

to a PSU that will work for this computer??

thats really stupid that dell puts different pin configs...
__________________


And above all else this, to thine own self be true.
-Shakespeare
Phate is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 09:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

Yea I wasn't aware Dell did that. Reasearch it on google though.
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 09:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 336
Default

well any links?

i kinda want to order these soon, but do you think i could really fry my PSU from these items?

im really surprised by that.

also, keeping in mind my budget (350-400) do you think i should skip out on some upgrade (maybe speakers) and get a better video card?

will it affect how much lag i get in WoW? or will it make it faster or something?
__________________

__________________


And above all else this, to thine own self be true.
-Shakespeare
Phate is offline  
Closed Thread

« Gf | help please!!! »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.