Help with upgrading - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-26-2012, 11:24 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Matt77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 604
Default Re: Help with upgrading

WiiU? Gonna kill prostitutes by shaking the controller XD
__________________

Matt77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 09:52 AM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 10
Default Re: Help with upgrading

Going to have to ask, Why Ghz edition? Is it just a beefier version?

I'm stuck between these three right now:
Nvidia:
http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16814130771

and AMD:

http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16814125439

http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16814150632
__________________

Nathan123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 12:15 PM   #13 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Help with upgrading

I would go with the 680 as driver support is much better. IF you decide you want a 7970 instead, then get the XFX as Gigabyte's CS is terrible.

GHz edition is simply an AMD card clocked over 1GHz stock.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 02:19 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 10
Default Re: Help with upgrading

I was thinking the 680 too, just because physx is easier to do with nvidia since the gpu will handle it, instead of my cpu.
Nathan123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 03:09 PM   #15 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Help with upgrading

Not many games utilize PhysX as it is slowly going away. I honestly see no performance difference setting the NVCP to do PhysX on CPU or GPU.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 11:15 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Matt77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 604
Default Re: Help with upgrading

Isn't PhysX only good for CAD and some crap games?
Matt77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 11:21 PM   #17 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Help with upgrading

PhysX has nothing to do with CAD. It's a physics processing API designed specifically for fluid motion of things such as flags and bodies and to be ran on Nvidia cards. It is great if implemented right, but most games that use it don't seem to put too much time into it or only use it for cloth items.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.