Help with an upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-17-2007, 03:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dhgunit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 690
Default Help with an upgrade

My rig is in the sig. I've got $300 to spend...any recommendations?

8800 GTS would be bottlenecked by the 3200, correct? So I think I am getting a eVGA 7900GS for it with a really good deal.

So say I have the 7900GS and $300 to spend, where should it go? Savings account till I can get a different mobo since I can't find anything I want for a socket 939?
__________________

__________________
Antec Twelve Hundred :: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Watt :: EVGA X58 3X SLI
Intel Core i7 920 :: Zalman CNPS9900LED :: SLI: EVGA GTX 260 Core 192 SSC 896MB and EVGA GTX 260 Core 216 896MB
OCZ Platinum 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3-1600 :: Western Digital Caviar Black 2 TB (2x1TB in RAID0) :: Hanns G 28" LCD Monitor


dhgunit is offline  
Old 05-17-2007, 04:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Help with an upgrade

I don't think there will be much of a bottleneck, if you overclock the 3200+. I could be wrong.

But the 7900GS is a great card too, for the money. If you get the 7900GS, save the money, for the new AMDs.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-17-2007, 04:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dhgunit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 690
Default Re: Help with an upgrade

Well, I think I kinda have a plan here.

Get this eVGA 7900GS, in 3 months use the step-up program....and build a new system then.

Then I have to make a decision on the CPU. When are the AMD Phenom's coming out?

Although I would really like to play Oblivion now......It was fine on my 17" LCD, but now I have this monstrous 22" Widescreen and the resolution is killin my lil 6800GT.
__________________
Antec Twelve Hundred :: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Watt :: EVGA X58 3X SLI
Intel Core i7 920 :: Zalman CNPS9900LED :: SLI: EVGA GTX 260 Core 192 SSC 896MB and EVGA GTX 260 Core 216 896MB
OCZ Platinum 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3-1600 :: Western Digital Caviar Black 2 TB (2x1TB in RAID0) :: Hanns G 28" LCD Monitor


dhgunit is offline  
Old 05-17-2007, 04:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Help with an upgrade

AMD K10 - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-17-2007, 05:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dhgunit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 690
Default Re: Help with an upgrade

One more question, then I'm done...I promise.

I get this eVGA 7900GS for $149.99 on newegg. Do I get to send that to eVGA in 3 months and get a new card that is $150? Or how exactly does that work? Is there depriciation?
__________________
Antec Twelve Hundred :: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Watt :: EVGA X58 3X SLI
Intel Core i7 920 :: Zalman CNPS9900LED :: SLI: EVGA GTX 260 Core 192 SSC 896MB and EVGA GTX 260 Core 216 896MB
OCZ Platinum 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3-1600 :: Western Digital Caviar Black 2 TB (2x1TB in RAID0) :: Hanns G 28" LCD Monitor


dhgunit is offline  
Old 05-17-2007, 05:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Help with an upgrade

you send the card back and then evga send you the new card you pay for the difference between the two cards so and 8800gtx $320-$150 = $170 that you have to pay
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-19-2007, 11:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1
Exclamation Re: Help with an upgrade (System Hangs!)

I'm having trouble with my newly bought PC. It's an AMD X2 3600+, 250Gb HDD, Asus Lightcribe burner, 2Gb kingston RAM, no other cooling or special cases.

It has been freezing frequently. It does it mostly when i put a game in and try to load the game. The DVD drive goes up to a High Rpm and then comes down again and just flashes on and off. Also while this is happening, if i go into the task manager i notice the CPU is under 100% load or in some circumstances, 0% load????

I have no idea what is wrong with it, because i was told that the 3600+ has a good rep. I have tried reinstalling a few drivers but still no dice. Can anyone help me out?
Havoc3600+ is offline  
Old 05-20-2007, 04:15 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: Help with an upgrade

wat psu and mobo do u have?
__________________

kobe24 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Soon to upgrade... Dr DMoney New Systems | Building and Buying 9 05-07-2007 10:41 PM
Upgrade this Dell dimension C251 uniq1 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 05-01-2007 07:42 PM
Vista Upgrade? Saynt25 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-18-2007 04:48 PM
Cant burn to Imation 16x DVD-R!! Cant upgrade DVD-RW firmware either!! Rawan AbuSalman Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 04-17-2007 05:34 PM
Vista Upgrade Christon Microsoft Windows and Software 5 04-07-2007 12:59 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.