help with updating CPU (noob) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-10-2010, 01:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 107
Default help with updating CPU (noob)

hello all

picked up a custom build and i'm looking to improve performance (if possible). right now the setup is as follows:

mobo: ECS C19-A SLI
CPU: pentium D 930 (pressler) (socket 775 LGA)

how does this CPU stack as far as what else would work with this motherboard (Pentium D / Pentium 4 HT / Celeron D), is there room for improvement? or am i better off going for a motherboard/RAM upgrade? i really can't afford to do both things right now but i am looking for more speed. i've been doing some video compression and editing and i am going to be doing more (which is why i am looking for more speed). thanks
__________________

little a is offline  
Old 12-10-2010, 03:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default Re: help with updating CPU (noob)

You are pretty much at the top of the CPU compatibility list already. it wouldn't be worth the addition expense of buying an end-of-life CPU.

Since your motherboard uses DDR2, I would recommend looking at an AM3/AM2+/AM2 board (so you can reuse the RAM) and an AM3 CPU. A quad would serve you well with the video compression.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 12-21-2010, 04:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 107
Default Re: help with updating CPU (noob)

sorry, took me a while get back but i think you are right, that is the best way to go. thanks
little a is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Updating Ram Nazgul New Systems | Building and Buying 6 01-29-2010 08:50 AM
updating my old hp stratigicsniper System Upgrades 3 12-06-2009 09:01 PM
Need some updating.......(WOW) TonCrafter PC Gaming 2 06-05-2006 09:13 PM
updating my VGA is it necessary ?;) weswes Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 11-19-2004 07:05 PM
NAV not updating. linux1880 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 04-01-2004 06:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.