Help with SSD (not physically) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-04-2012, 12:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 86
Default Help with SSD (not physically)

So I just installed windows 7 on my SSD (120GB), and I am currently formatting my hard drive (1TB).

Basically I want my OS as well as my games on the SSD. Everything else goes on the 1TB hard drive.

What I need help with:

- How to make the 1TB HDD the default place where things go (so that I can manually click the SSD when it comes to games and such)
- Do I need to fix this in the BIOS, and if so, can you help me in any way?
- Other tips and facts related to using an SSD like this are also appreciated, because I've got nothing (knowledge-wise)

Feel free to explain this to me as if I were 5, as that would greatly improve the chances of me understanding.


I would be most appreciative for any help!
__________________

bengjo is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 12:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Help with SSD (not physically)

I run off an SSD. All my games are on my 500GB HDD. When you install software, you must specify where the files will go. Normally "C:\Program Files", you need to change that to "E:\Program Files", or whatever your drive letter is and where you want to save it in.

In a browser, for example, you can set where your downloads go.

There is no automated way to do it, sorry to say.

The BIOS does not control software. All it does is control hardware.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 01:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 86
Default Re: Help with SSD (not physically)

So basically, now that the 1 TB HDD is wiped clean and I'm running off my SSD, all I have to do is specify where all the things I download / install go and that's really it?
bengjo is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 01:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Help with SSD (not physically)

Yep. Just specify where everything goes.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 01:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 86
Default Re: Help with SSD (not physically)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
Yep. Just specify where everything goes.
Alright, thanks.
bengjo is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 02:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Just Epic.
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: London
Posts: 579
Default Re: Help with SSD (not physically)

Can you just drag the user folders from the ssd to the hdd or do you have to do it a certain way so that it doesnt ruin things like the pathway for shortcuts on the desktop?
__________________
- EVGA GTX 780 - I5 2500K @ 4.5GHz
- Corsair H100 - Asus Sabertooth P67
- Corsair TX850 - 2 x 2TB Seagate Barracuda 7200.14
- 120GB Corsair Force 3 - Windows 7 64 bit
- Arctic Silver 5 - Black NZXT Phantom
- Linksys WMP600n - Some random Samsung DVD drive

Sennheiser HD598s, over ear Momentum and Fiio e17
Crossfire 27" 1440p monitor
Samsung Galaxy Player 5.0 - Cyanogen
HTC One Black 32gb - Android Revolution HD
Samsung Galaxy Tab pro 8.4 - Cyanogen
Mischa is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 02:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
ninja troll
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,019
Default Re: Help with SSD (not physically)

for existing programs, youll have to reinstall them if transferring them to a new hard drive (unless youre some sort of registry warlock, in which case you probably know what to expect anyways) *EDIT Corrosive is a registry warlock.

all other files can just be drag and dropped. shortcuts on the desktop can be changed to the new location by right clicking and changing the target and file location.
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K
ASUS P8Z68-V LE LGA 1155 Intel Z68
Corsair 550VX
1Tb Samsung Spinpoint F3
1Tb WD Caviar Green
2Tb WD Caviar Green
8gb DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600
Sapphire Radeon 6870


jasonalwaysready is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 02:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Just Epic.
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: London
Posts: 579
Default Re: Help with SSD (not physically)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonalwaysready View Post
for existing programs, youll have to reinstall them if transferring them to a new hard drive (unless youre some sort of registry warlock, in which case you probably know what to expect anyways)

all other files can just be drag and dropped. shortcuts on the desktop can be changed to the new location by right clicking and changing the target and file location.
thanks!
__________________
- EVGA GTX 780 - I5 2500K @ 4.5GHz
- Corsair H100 - Asus Sabertooth P67
- Corsair TX850 - 2 x 2TB Seagate Barracuda 7200.14
- 120GB Corsair Force 3 - Windows 7 64 bit
- Arctic Silver 5 - Black NZXT Phantom
- Linksys WMP600n - Some random Samsung DVD drive

Sennheiser HD598s, over ear Momentum and Fiio e17
Crossfire 27" 1440p monitor
Samsung Galaxy Player 5.0 - Cyanogen
HTC One Black 32gb - Android Revolution HD
Samsung Galaxy Tab pro 8.4 - Cyanogen
Mischa is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 03:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Help with SSD (not physically)

Redirecting Program Files and Program Files(x86) in Vista/Win7.


There is also a way to do it for user files, heck you can even redirect just the "downloads" folder out of all your user documents if you wished.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 01-05-2012, 03:07 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: Help with SSD (not physically)

Also in Windows 7, you can move your Documents/Pictures/Music/Videos libraries to other drives as well by including a folder on the storage drive and excluding the original folder.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can you have a SSD 60GB as a boot drive and a 500GB HDD for storage but have smart response enabled on the SSD? matteuk New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-27-2011 01:12 PM
Questions on PHYSICALLY Building My PC undefined System Upgrades 9 01-02-2008 09:03 PM
modem has (meta)-physically disappeared ja5on Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 02-02-2005 09:57 AM
Can loading wrong ghost image file physically damage computer? JohanH Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 05-02-2004 05:59 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.