Help with SATA drives on boot - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-30-2009, 11:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
Default Help with SATA drives on boot

Hello all, first time poster here. I'm frustrated with a build I started earlier today. I'm building an htpc, specs are as follows:

Old stuff from a desktop of mine:

MSI K8N Neo 4 Platinum socket 939
AMD Athlon 64 3700+
1x1gb Corsair
300gb SATA HDD

Stuff I ordered:

Lite-on blue ray drive
HTPC case
Sapphire HDMI card
Media remote
500watt power supply

I put everything together, and I boot it up to try to install Windows 7 from a DVD. The blu-ray drive wasn't recognized by the bios, but the SATA HDD was, as the third master IDE drive. There may be data on there, formatting it is fine with me but my question is how do I set it to primary master, and get the machine to boot from the flash drive? I realize I have to set the boot sequence. The flash drive (I know I have windows installed, and bootable on it. I have the boot sequence settings correct and when I boot it, it says:

Detecting IDE drives..
IDE fourth master: none
IDE fifth master: none
IDE sixth master: none

Floppy disk(s) fail (40) - I don't have a floppy

Press F1 to Continue or DEL to setup - when I press F1, it says DISK BOOT FAILURE, INSERT SYSTEM DISK AND PRESS ENTER

When I press ENTER, it just goes to a blank screen and does nothing.

Where do I proceed from here? Thanks.

notoriouscwe is offline  
Old 07-01-2009, 11:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: Help with SATA drives on boot

I haven't had a chance to look at this again but I have been at work doing more research. A coworker suggested that I update the BIOS, which I will try.

One thing I was able to do, was plug in my old IDE master HD, which has XP pro installed on it. However when I boot windows, the SATA drive, as well as my Blueray drive do not show up in my computer, or in the device manager. Is it possible that my SATA cables are messed up considering they are ~4 years old?

notoriouscwe is offline  
Old 07-01-2009, 12:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Hefemeister's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Help with SATA drives on boot

I would say you do not have the sata drivers installed for xp which does not have native sata support.
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 07-01-2009, 07:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,052
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Help with SATA drives on boot

Go into your setup (e.g. press DEL when it tells you to)

Look for an option as to how the hard drives are setup. There's usually a few modes, such as 'extended', 'advanced', or just something plain like 'sata' Make sure the option you choose has sata drive support.

As to the fact that it's the third IDE master, you can change that by choosing which port you plug the drive into on your motherboard.
For the floppy, again while you're in the bios setup you'll have to look for the floppy drive options. Usually it's something like 'enable floppy' or 'floppy drive type'.
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is it possible to make sata 3 my primary HD? And how mattl148 System Upgrades 6 02-20-2009 10:58 PM
unable to load win xp on sata hard drive. unmountable boot volume error screen! busa4 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 04-14-2008 08:09 PM
2x 1TB (1,000GB) Seagate Sata Drives 98RedGs Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 22 04-04-2008 01:12 PM
Sata as boot, IDE as storage SapperX Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 02-01-2008 05:22 PM
2 SATA Hard Drives (160gb each)/C&C 3 gurusan Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 9 09-20-2007 08:58 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.