HElp..Question Re New TB Hard Drive Saving Files To IT??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-13-2009, 05:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 16
Default HElp..Question Re New TB Hard Drive Saving Files To IT???

I am running my system on windows Vista Ultimate. I have the oS running on a 160gb HD. I have just bought a 1TB internal Hd and am formatting it through windows as i type.
I intend using this TB to store my Media and pictures.

My Question is this... IF in the future I decide to install a new operating system on this PC or if I get a new PC.. Will I loose The Information I intend saving on the TB Hard Drive as I Formatted It through this current Vista Sytem?
__________________

Cathalb4 is offline  
Old 10-13-2009, 05:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
farinha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Portugal
Posts: 866
Default Re: HElp..Question Re New TB Hard Drive Saving Files To IT???

You can use Gparted to shrink the existent partition so you'll be able to create a new one and install the OS on it.
__________________

farinha is offline  
Old 10-13-2009, 05:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 16
Default Re: HElp..Question Re New TB Hard Drive Saving Files To IT???

i dont wish to do that.. i just want to use it as a storage facility for my media files.. and keep my operating system on the original 160 hard drive??
Cathalb4 is offline  
Old 10-13-2009, 05:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default Re: HElp..Question Re New TB Hard Drive Saving Files To IT???

Your media and files on the 1TB will be fine, even if you wipe Vista and install a different OS. Media and (generic) files are static and are read by the OS or other programs. It would not matter whether it was Vista, or if you installed 7, or even if you installed a flavor of Linux. All of them would be able to see and read the media and files.

Any programs you install on the 1TB drive will be rendered useless by removing Vista or installing a new OS on the main 160GB drive, however.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 10-13-2009, 05:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
farinha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Portugal
Posts: 866
Default Re: HElp..Question Re New TB Hard Drive Saving Files To IT???

If you don't format the partition/disk then all your data will be available.
farinha is offline  
Old 10-13-2009, 05:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 16
Default Re: HElp..Question Re New TB Hard Drive Saving Files To IT???

Thank You Trotter and farinha...
one more question.. if i do a back up of my operating sytem to the new hd and place the new hd in a new pc and decide to try to install the back up to the new pc will it work or will it have all the drivers from the old pc (motherboard etc on it) (I use Acronis True Image to back up my system if this helps)
Cathalb4 is offline  
Old 10-13-2009, 06:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: HElp..Question Re New TB Hard Drive Saving Files To IT???

You can always unplug the 1TB drive when you do a new install just to be sure nothing happens to it.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 10-13-2009, 06:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 16
Default

farinha.. i had to format the new hard drive in order for my system to recognise it,....in fact it is currently formatting now in preparation for use..

sorry farinha... i understand.. you mean when im formatting for a new os in the future not to format the 1tb drive as slaymate says above..
Cathalb4 is offline  
Old 10-13-2009, 06:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default Re: HElp..Question Re New TB Hard Drive Saving Files To IT???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cathalb4
one more question.. if i do a back up of my operating sytem to the new hd and place the new hd in a new pc and decide to try to install the back up to the new pc will it work or will it have all the drivers from the old pc (motherboard etc on it) (I use Acronis True Image to back up my system if this helps)
That's a tricky question, actually. It can be done, but it takes some preparation first. If you are running XP, you can either perform a repair installation once the drive is in the other computer, or you could use Sysprep beforehand (but the backup would have to be running as the main OS at the time). With Vista (and presumably 7) you should be able to still use Sysprep, but I have not tested it out yet.

http://www.answersthatwork.com/Downl...P_PC_setup.pdf
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 10-13-2009, 06:23 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 16
Default Re: HElp..Question Re New TB Hard Drive Saving Files To IT???

Do you mean the backup would have to be running as the main operating system on the new pc? Would the drivers not conflict? im going to read the link you sent.. thankyou..
__________________

Cathalb4 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Random RPC Services keep failing VegasGamer Microsoft Windows and Software 14 08-10-2009 07:59 PM
Help again Dustin123 Viruses, Spyware and Malware 8 08-01-2009 05:00 PM
Hard Drive Data Recovery SuperiorAssassin Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 07-12-2009 01:02 AM
Hard drive question trooper1 System Upgrades 3 10-17-2008 06:04 AM
friends log Static_11 HijackThis Logs (finished) 11 11-25-2007 10:27 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.