Help Please?! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-22-2006, 02:27 AM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

did you update to the latest nvidia drivers ???
did you go to windows update and get all there updates ???
__________________

__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 02:29 AM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

also try this......it says its for windows 2000 but its worth a shot

http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=293410&sd=RMVP
__________________

__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 02:34 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 22
Default

well, that sounds like a very good lead but right now my harddrive is formatted and i can't even load windows. if it was a problem within windows shouldn't i be able to install windows at the least?
Saucz is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 02:40 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

try this

Quote:
http://www.troyedwards.com/download...isks/boot98.exe

you do now. Just get you a floppy and execute the file, it will write to it then boot from the floppy and follow this below:

*******FDISK Tutorial*******

FDISK Tutorial


The Basics of Fdisk:
Primary partitions are the only one that are bootable. They're always the C: drive when active. Normally you can only have one (more with some special tricks etc.) Extended partitions are needed when you want more than one partition. You can only have ONE Extended partition. Logical Drives come into the Extended partition. They are handy since you know that you can only have one Primary and one Extended so you can get more than only two partitions. They would be your D:, E:, etc. drives.

First you need to reboot your system with the Boot Disk inserted.

1.At the A: prompt start "FDISK."

2.If asked to use Large Disc support say Yes.

3.The first screen looks like this:

Create Dos Partition or Logical Drive
Set Active Partition
Delete Partitions or Logical DOS Drives
Display Partition Information
Change current fixed drive. (In case you have two or more Hard Drivess)
So, to prepare you hopefully did a backup from your data. You did, didn't you ?!

4.Next we need to remove the existing partitions. So go to 3.

5.Next screen like this:

Delete Primary DOS
Delete Extended DOS
Delete Logical Drives
Delete Non-DOS
Delete always in the following order

Logical (All) > Extended > Primary (Last)

6.Go back to first screen after all partitions have been removed.

7.Now we need to setup our new partitions. Go to 1.

This screen looks like this:

Create Primary DOS
Create Extended DOS
Create Logical DOS Drives
Here we create in the following order

Primary > Extended > Logical Drives.

8.First create the Primary. If asked to use all space say No and enter the amount you wish for the C: drive. It should be set automatically to be the (only) Active partition. If not it may ask you or you have to select "2. Set active partition" from the main menu.

9.Next create the Extended Partition. Use all space left.

It probably advances automatically to the next step, creating the Logical DOS Drives.

10.Enter the amount you wish for the D: partition and than the rest for the third partition.

Think first about the size for the partitions.

OK now we're finished with FDISK so just exit it. Next you need to reboot with the disc still inserted and Format all partitions (the C: partition might need to be formatted with "format c: /s", check the Win95 tip). Another reboot and you can go ahead and install Windows.
__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 02:50 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 22
Default

i'm not sure that creating extra partitions on my HD would help me with this. wouldn't it only cause more problems?
Saucz is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 02:52 AM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

try deleting the partition and starting fresh....or......create 2 partitions and make 1 as your windows stuff and one for all your other stuff like music, pics, games or wateva....

just a sudgestion
__________________

__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.