Help Please?! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-21-2006, 11:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 22
Default Help Please?!

i got all my parts today and aseembled my computer. Worked perfectly for about 2 hrs then blue screen of death then been having problems ever since. i thought it was the drivers so i did system restore then reinstalled to some different drivers. So then it worked fine until i tried installing WOW. then blue screen of death comes out again. whenever this blue screen comes out, it comes out for a split second then the system reboots so i can't eve read what's wrong with it. Then, i try doing a fresh install of windows and it says that vga.sys is corrupt and windows won't even install. Would anyone have any idea of what's going on??? Any input is greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Biostar tforce nvidia sli
corsair value ram 512x2
evga 6600 gt
amd 3200 venice
__________________

Saucz is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 12:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 22
Default

ok so a bried update. i got the system to boot off the cd, was able to format then as it was copying the files needed to begin installation of windows, the blue screen came back up. i then had to shut it down. i'm guessing i got a bad mobo?
__________________

Saucz is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 12:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 22
Default

or a bad video card... i'm confused... if it says that the vga.sys is corrupt would that be a video card fault or mobo fault?
Saucz is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 01:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 48
Default

You have not said anything about your components. I'm suspecting your power supply. If it is not from a reputable source, it may not be putting out as much power as it says it should.
figero is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 01:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

does your mobo have onboard graphics ??

if so take the 6600GT out and try and boot the computer up...if that works then RMA the 6600GT and if it doesnt it is possibly the mobo
__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 01:11 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

strip the computer down to the bare minimum. cpu ram vid card and hard drive. recheck and reseat all of your componets and power connections. Did your heatsink have thermal pad or did you use something like artic silver? Please let us know the full build especially the power supply to see if you have enough juice.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 02:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 22
Default

Ok. So here i go.

Biostar SLI nvidia4 tforce mobo
Corsair value ram 1 gig 512x2
eVGA 128Geforce 6600GT 128MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card - Retail
thermaltake 430w psu set at 115v
seagate Barracuda 7200.9 80GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive
AMD 64 3200 venice retail (with heatsink and fan) cpu
External CD connected by usb

I'm pretty sure it's not the cpu cuz the temp was a steady 35-40degrees and it was seated properly. The only paste i used was the one that came with the heatsink and fan. I am not overclocking anything so that's not a factor.

So here's the story. I put all the parts together. Booted up for the first time. Posted fine and installed windows xp. That went fine. I installed the drivers that came with the mobo and video card. That went fine. Then everything worked. internet, sound, video. Everything ran fine so i installed world of warcraft. Downloaded all the patches then played that for about 2 hours. through the second hour, my screen just turned blue for a split second with some kind of warning then rebooted. I rebooted in safe mode then checked system info to see what the problem was. Something didn't look right in the sound and video driver department so i did a system restore to when i first booted and reinstalled drivers from evga and biostar's website. Rebooted, then everything seemed to run fine. Then i tried reinstalling wow and after it installed when i tried to play the game, as soon as was about to load, blue screen again. So i decided to do a fresh copy of windows. Booted from cd. First time, during the component checing process, it said VGA.SYS was corrupt and it had to shut down. Rebooted from cd again and tried reinstalling windows. Made it to the part where it says it's copying install files to begin installing windows then blue screen came up again saying something was not "equal to or less than" then at the bottom says USB PORT something...

Then i posted here. So sorry for this annoyance but does anyone have any ideas??
Saucz is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 02:06 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 22
Default

My mobo doesn't have an onboard graphics card but it does have a graphics card controller
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...SubCategory=22
Saucz is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 02:08 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 22
Default

i made sure everything was seated properly by the way so i'm sure it's not that
Saucz is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 02:15 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 22
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Custra...82E16814130214

also, when said strip down to bare minimum, that's pretty much all that i have. The video, ram, cpu and harddrive...

i hope i don't sound like an *** by saying that but i don't mean that in any way. just updating my situation.
thanks
__________________

Saucz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.