help please!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-26-2006, 09:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 22
Default help please!!!

This is my first build...everything went fine, it started up fine and everything, i set up bios, let it run for about an hour or so for "burn in". So after that i shut it off and go to comp usa to buy a fan for the rear and come back put on the fan, start up the computer and then and start up screen theres little dash all over the screen and then i go to BIOS and it has little unoganized black line through out all of the screen...what the problem

this suck n e help would be greatly appreciated
__________________

speedracer2411 is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 09:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Clear CMOS, then try rebooting. If that doesn't solve it, unattach everything except CPU, RAM and Video card then try rebooting.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 09:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ste
Clear CMOS, then try rebooting. If that doesn't solve it, unattach everything except CPU, RAM and Video card then try rebooting.
im sorry whats cmos
speedracer2411 is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 09:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

CMOS
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 10:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by speedracer2411
im sorry whats cmos
The CMOS is most often associated with the small coin like battery that can be found on all motherboards. It contains settings that include but are not limited to, boot order, boot devices, BIOS Passwords, CPU frequency and IRQ/port settings.

To clear the CMOS you should be able to take the CMOS battery off the motherboard by pushing down a small clip holding it in. Keeping the battery off for 1-3 minutes then placing the battery back where it was and rebooting.

All this should be done while computer is off and AC cord is detached.
Ste is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 10:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 22
Default

reseting it worked...any reason why it does that????
speedracer2411 is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 10:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by speedracer2411
reseting it worked...any reason why it does that????
Well, most of the time with computer problems, we never figure out why something happens, but at least we found a way to fix it.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.