[Help]-PC to TV?.. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-20-2006, 06:48 AM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 429
Default

If he has a celeron processor he does not need to get such an expensive card. It will go to waste in his poor machine.
__________________

stainer711 is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 09:10 AM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 15
Default

No, I don't play games, nor do I plan to...
__________________

johnv is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 09:32 AM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

ok then maybe look at something like a cheap Radeon card or a GeForce 5 card.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 09:38 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 38
Default

Just to check,
You are wanting to run your computer to your TV.
In the back of your computer you have is the VGA monitor output.

What would be helpful, the make of the computer you have (I'm guessing it's an off the shelf)

What type of inputs does your TV have (S-Video, Component (The red Blue Green), DVI, HDMI, Cable, or Composite(Yellow, Red, White)

What is the general purpose of what you are trying to do. Watch movies off a DVD, Video Editing, Streaming video, or just a big picture of Word.
daytonoh is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 09:41 AM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

if you won't do any gaming, a Geforce FX-5200 will be fine
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 10:25 AM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by daytonoh
Just to check,
1)You are wanting to run your computer to your TV.
In the back of your computer you have is the VGA monitor output.

2)What would be helpful, the make of the computer you have (I'm guessing it's an off the shelf)

3)What type of inputs does your TV have (S-Video, Component (The red Blue Green), DVI, HDMI, Cable, or Composite(Yellow, Red, White)

4)What is the general purpose of what you are trying to do. Watch movies off a DVD, Video Editing, Streaming video, or just a big picture of Word.
1)I don't think I have 1...
2)Intel Celeron..
3)Component, Composite, and S-Video...
4)Streaming Video...
johnv is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 10:22 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 38
Default

1) Hmmm...how is your current monitor hooked to your monitor? Guess it's not really important because you want to go with S-video. I just wanted to make sure you wanted to output not input/throughput.

2)That is the processor, Is you computer and HP, Dell, Compaq, Emachine, Custome Built. Do you have a model number, something we could look up on the web to see what type of MB it has to see what type of card it uses.

3) good so there is Component and S-video, chances are good we could find a card for that.

4) Going to let someone else take this, I'm not sure if this is a memorey hog and how much processing it needs. This could make a difference in the card.
daytonoh is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 10:35 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 15
Default

It's a Dell...
__________________

johnv is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.